Topic: WinNTSetup  (Read 20185 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #20 on: March 11, 2015, 10:42:21 PM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 815
Would do you mean with missing gpt support  :confused:

BTW: For your chkdsk issues, your really should disable quick boot in any Win8 you have.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2015, 10:44:19 PM by JFX »

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #21 on: March 11, 2015, 11:19:46 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 6945
Hi JFX,

I report that earlier:
 I could not get a WinNTSetup boot an empty gpt-fixeddisk... while other utility did nicely..

For GPT you have to create the 100MB system partition yourself and select this one a boot drive.
  if there is already an esp partition, there is no letter to it and one can not assign,
    see reply 7 second picture http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=1232.msg14476#msg14476
  if there is not an esp partition, I create one to be esp later (assigned letter) but WinNTSetup could not get it work (maybe I had forgotten to active again :))

I guess KYHI reported similar...

I am very newly practicing these stuff, I don't know what I am dealing with much,
 all I like to have Win7x86 at hand as the result of such spending time..

++
I will chkdsk later with Win81SE,

This did not work with RegTweaks
Code: [Select]
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager]
"BootExecute"=hex(7):00,00

++
I fixed all my Win71x86 driver stuff,
+ to install usb3 driver, I plug out all devices (vhd on internal disk), and it works now  :thumbsup:
+ intel 4000 gpu could not install solved after reading
https://nctritech.wordpress.com/2012/03/15/code-12-on-windows-7-the-device-cannot-find-enough-free-resources/
solutions there did not help,
I decide not to "integrate any driver" to avoid driver conflicts, it workd  :thumbsup:

4th time installing, sucked all free times in passing days
now time to copy vhd to usb disk, update Win71x86, some settings .... some hours...

:turtle:

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #22 on: March 12, 2015, 12:51:33 AM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 815
You got the wrong picture.
WinNTSetup does nothing with partitions, besides updating boot sector with bootsect.exe.

The complete partition layout is up the the user to be created.
On start WinNTSetup scans all disk for ESP partitions and assigns them a letter.
Even if this not work, can't image a case, but there still mountvol /s to do it.

About "BootExecute"=hex(7):00,00", yes there is bug with empty strings.

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #23 on: March 12, 2015, 12:59:12 AM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
Thanks KYHI,

I already made my usb-hdd-mbr bootable to vhd with WinNTSetup,
 to me critical missing with WinNTSetup is gpt support, which is currently not important to me.....

GPT Support is there in WinNTsetup.. Win7_x64 supports GPT disk and when installed to USB with 2 partitions has its own efi bootmgr > Both WinToUsb and WinNTsetup support selecting an EFI partition and Windows partition...

The issue in your case is Win_x86 on GPT partition and EFI bootmgr..

Winx86 and to my surprise Winx64 boot just fine on single partition USB MBR Hard Disk or USB Flash Drive (No need for GPT Drive Format)

Winx86 and Winx64 can boot using two separate partitions (1 Fat32 and 1 NTFS)

UEFI_GPT x64 Partition Creation
Code: [Select]
select disk #
clean
convert gpt

== System Partition uefi ==
create partition efi size=100
format quick fs=fat32 label="SYSTEM"
assign letter="S"

=== Windows Partition ===
create partition primary
format quick fs=ntfs label="WIN_OS"
assign letter="W"

BIOS Partition Creatiton x86 / x64
Code: [Select]
Select disk #

== System Partition ==
create partition primary size=100
format quick fs=fat32 label="SYSTEM" (format quick fs=ntfs label="SYSTEM") either or will work
assign letter="S"
active

== Windows Partition ==
create partition primary
format quick fs=ntfs label="WIN_OS"
assign letter="W"

Notice GPT and Active (I assume one could set EFI partition also as Active) to maybe create a shared x86 and x64 system boot partition
Which just leaves one question > x86 software on GPT partition

JFX, commented you need windows 8 or better to support x86 on GPT (My 8.1 Tablet is x86 on UEFI_GPT)

It depends only some newer uEFI support x86. Also it requires a Win 8 x86.

So once again it comes down to Win7 x86 on UEFI-GPT (or anything prior to windows 8)

Just Better to avoid GPT partition all together - with WinNTsetup the UEFI support comes from within software
« Last Edit: March 12, 2015, 01:14:33 AM by KYHI »

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #24 on: March 12, 2015, 01:59:39 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 6945
I will follow and test gpt notes and other stuff in detail in following days....
with better reports  :thumbsup:

:turtle:


Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #25 on: March 12, 2015, 02:32:03 AM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
I have used this program, because it seems to work very well with adding boot (BCD) entries for iso, vhd, wim
Nice thing is you may be able to add - OS to ram project > sources\boot.wim (WinPE - WinRE) to BCD entry into USB bootmgr
or visa versa - add vhd to project bootmgr

EasyBCD 2.2
ila_rendered

What would be a good Feature in WinNTsetup would be the ability to ADD or USE an existing VHD instead of just creating one..
« Last Edit: March 12, 2015, 02:55:37 AM by KYHI »

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #26 on: March 12, 2015, 03:57:05 AM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 815
What would be a good Feature in WinNTsetup would be the ability to ADD or USE an existing VHD instead of just creating one..
Just 2 buttons away  :whistling:

"VHD >>>" --> "Attach"

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #27 on: March 12, 2015, 03:59:20 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 6945
JFX,

I guess KYHI means only adding bootmanager things without creating a new vhd  :wink:

:turtle:

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #28 on: March 12, 2015, 04:01:11 AM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 815
Oh, well common come on guys, just a line in cmd after attaching

Bcdboot Z:\Windows /s Y:

Z: - your mounted VHD
Y: - your boot partition
« Last Edit: March 12, 2015, 08:11:50 AM by JFX »

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #29 on: March 12, 2015, 04:04:35 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 6945
:)

as I wrote, I am very new on this nt6x gems :)

currently writing from new vhd win71x86, syncronised with ff (pw ready), and windows updating  :smile

:turtle:

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #30 on: March 12, 2015, 04:29:56 AM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
What would be a good Feature in WinNTsetup would be the ability to ADD or USE an existing VHD instead of just creating one..
Just 2 buttons away  :whistling:

"VHD >>>" --> "Attach"
:white_flag:
Oh, well common guy, just a line in cmd after attaching

Bcdboot Z:\Windows /s Y:

Z: - your mounted VHD
Y: - your boot partition

commom guy says >> DUH and asks why I gotta type??   :lamp:

Guess we need to read the instructions - wait men don't need or read instructions..  :w00t:

Our wives tells us what to do and how to do it...  :ohmy:
« Last Edit: March 12, 2015, 04:37:20 AM by KYHI »

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #31 on: March 12, 2015, 05:50:53 AM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
Chris got me thinking (bad sign) > How hard would it be to add a partitioning tab or GUI to the current program?

Since I noticed that the program runs a premade diskpart script to create a vhd...

We could add variables to the gui and write a diskpart.txt file that can then run by diskpart as a script to partition a hard disk

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #32 on: March 12, 2015, 06:21:52 AM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 815
Or you could simply add bootice next to Winntsetup and will get such a tab.

Puh, with all these question you guys have,
I need to rethink all the features I wanted to put in the next major version  :mellow:
« Last Edit: March 12, 2015, 08:17:12 AM by JFX »

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #33 on: March 12, 2015, 08:44:12 AM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
Not sure that is a good thing or a bad thing JFX..

I believe a script could create a partition script for use with > diskpart /s diskpart_*.txt
« Last Edit: March 20, 2015, 05:10:55 PM by KYHI »

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #34 on: March 13, 2015, 03:05:18 AM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
I was testing this morning this along with the > os to ram > boot.wim
I added sources\boot.wim from project to Win-Usb and added entry with easyBCD
Boot.wim loaded into memory and then fails BCD integrity check written by this program

I can work (still playing with) bootice to get it

SE writes to > windows boot manager > nointegritychecks       Yes
SE writes to > windows boot loader > loadoptions             DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS

I know NT was not meant for this, BUT the current win-usb BCD was written by NT

NT writes to > both > integrityservices       Enable

The VHD's boot fine as NT has written the BCD -
What I am not sure of is what Option needs to be changed to bypass the checks on boot.wim > just the boot.wim integer or the bootmgr integer or both


« Last Edit: March 13, 2015, 03:15:41 AM by KYHI »

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #35 on: March 13, 2015, 05:59:42 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 6945

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #36 on: March 13, 2015, 06:11:50 AM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
Got it boot with > legacy x86 and x64 and Win81SE x64 <> EFI x64 and Win81SE x64 (for which win81se uses legacy boot option from bootmgr.efi)

Could not allow NT to write BCD, due to integrity checks.. Choose NONE

Created a Win81SE os-to-ram project to the win-usb, copied WinNTsetup VHD's to win-usb,
mounted x86 VHD and used cmd > bcdboot VHD:\Windows /s USB: /f BIOS
mounted x64 VHD and used cmd > bcdboot VHD:\Windows /s USB: /f ALL
Booted PC both efi and legacy > both booted VHD - due to No display boot menu option in Win81se bcd
Added displaybootmenu option to both bootmgr and bootmgr.efi > bootice = working Win-Usb w/winse

Tweak to SE project = add displaybootmenu  yes - to win81se project bcd - timeout is already set by project
Tweak to NT project = use command line bcdboot it does not write in integrity checks in bcd

Next test is to (edit) enable standard mode in win81se bcd entry - to see if win81se can boot in legacy and efi

Success - Booting Win81SE boot.wim into legacy and UEFI
Edited this under SE winloader from > bootmenupolicy          Legacy (to Standard)

Tweak 2 for SE project to boot SE in both Legacy Mode and UEFI mode..


A Complete Success!!

Enjoy!!
Kyhi
« Last Edit: March 20, 2015, 04:00:44 PM by KYHI »

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #37 on: March 15, 2015, 05:06:19 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 6945
Hi JFX,

a small idea, to add Tweaks,
Gena\Adjunct\MountedDevices Host

since these vhd would be used on personal pc, it would be nice having same driver letters  :wink:
->
practical usage is, when drive letter changed for vhd, such feature would make host-os driver letter (Generally C:) same,
 which would make symbolic links  work...

just an idea  :thumbsup:

:turtle:

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #38 on: March 15, 2015, 06:46:38 AM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 815
There is already an option to save driveletters.

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #39 on: March 15, 2015, 07:32:30 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 6945
« Last Edit: March 15, 2015, 07:32:58 AM by Lancelot »

 

Powered by EzPortal