Topic: WinNTSetup  (Read 24503 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #40 on: March 15, 2015, 10:43:05 AM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
http://theoven.org/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=1240.0;attach=2446;image

Every time that VHD is booted that drive letter will be V

Leaving Host OS drive letters un-changed

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #41 on: March 15, 2015, 12:05:28 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7052
Leaving Host OS drive letters un-changed
well I feel no, windows follows its automatic driver assigning routine, which fits ok if you don't do other drive letter scenarios....

Short story, I accidentally notice this and felt it would be nice feature on WinNTSetup, up to JFX..

In some future, it is good idea to use these .vhd with plugins, where I can use MountedDevices Host plugin too,
 not hard, but requires time, much later  :thumbsup:

:turtle:

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #42 on: March 15, 2015, 12:10:36 PM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
All my VHD's booted as pre assigned drive letter M

And my host drives stayed as C windows, D data, E backup

Where as without pre drive letter assignment my C windows was assigned F
« Last Edit: March 15, 2015, 12:11:02 PM by KYHI »

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #43 on: March 15, 2015, 12:15:17 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7052
Than all I can say,
it didn't work here, I asssign my usb-disk S: since the begining,

when vhd booted, and I plugin my usb-disk, it was E: or F:

Anyway, as I say, not much important to me  :thumbsup:

:turtle:

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #44 on: March 15, 2015, 12:16:59 PM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
USB was E or F
VHD windows S ??

Y tag usb
« Last Edit: March 15, 2015, 12:19:01 PM by KYHI »

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #45 on: March 15, 2015, 12:21:00 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7052
no,
vhd when booted V: ;)  :great:

usb when first plugged in E: (which is S: on my hostos)

I had written "MountedDevices Host" for that reason in very past (which is a simple plugin), not big deal.

I already changed driver letter from E: to S: on vhd-os, it was a small feature idea for WinNTSetup , that was all  :thumbsup:

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #46 on: March 15, 2015, 09:57:08 PM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 852
Hmm, yes only logical disk will be saved and of course the new systemdrive.
Well not really worth to add such an option.

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #47 on: March 16, 2015, 12:48:01 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7052
 :thumbsup:

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #48 on: March 25, 2015, 05:42:15 AM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
JFX,

Change Log for 3.77 ??

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #49 on: March 25, 2015, 05:47:10 AM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 852

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #50 on: March 27, 2015, 10:33:59 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7052
Hi JFX,

may I ask how WinNTSetup:
Disable System Restore ?


Shorlty:
 Reason Behind:
microsoft.vc80.atl,type="win32",version="8.50727.42",publicKeyToken="1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b",processorArchitecture="x86"

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/vssetup/thread/4cecb2c6-dd5d-440e-8357-8701ac6f302b

:turtle:

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #51 on: March 28, 2015, 01:44:42 AM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 852
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-US/library/ff793976(v=winembedded.60).aspx

But indeed, Windows seems to ignore the complete key, wonder when that have changed.

For link, it's properly a AV issue.

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #52 on: March 28, 2015, 02:34:23 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7052
Here there is no
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows NT\SystemRestore\

DisableSR is at
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\SystemRestore

which was 1
I changed to 0, even take a manual restore point, did not help.

+
the link I gave:
I have same trouble (no AV, defender disabled), after digging down I figured out,
trying to install latest vcredist_x86.exe (2005 sp1) failed
I suspected disabled SystemRestore.... well only left suspect a windows update may cause this  :smile:

hehe, the Win71x86 vhd I learned creating with all updates etc.  now have no use  :smile:
 I created another quick one (Thanks to WinNTSetup), where vcredist work (without any system tweak, doing things manually after setup),
 and application installed to be used nicely  :smile:

lots of things to do, lots of things to learn,
 hopefully digging more later in summer  :thumbsup:

:turtle:

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #53 on: March 28, 2015, 04:46:02 AM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
JFX,

Pre-Assign Drive Letter " * "

Ex: *:\VHD  > Lets windows assign the drive letter ??

Also, to suppress Windows Format Popup during VHD creation - knew the program HAD that issue, may have been corrected already..

Code: [Select]
TXTAddLine,%vw%,"create vdisk file=%vhd% Maximum=%vp% Type=%Type%",Append
TXTAddLine,%vw%,"attach vdisk",Append
TxtAddline,%vw%,"automount disable",Append
TXTAddLine,%vw%,"create partition primary",Append
TxtAddline,%vw%,"online volume",Append
TXTAddLine,%vw%,"format quick fs=ntfs label=%Volabel%",Append
TxtAddline,%vw%,"automount enable",Append
TXTAddLine,%vw%,"assign letter=%PreAssign%",Append
//TXTAddLine,%vw%,"detach vdisk",Append
TXTAddLine,%vw%,"exit",Append

« Last Edit: March 28, 2015, 06:38:05 AM by KYHI »

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #54 on: March 28, 2015, 09:26:27 AM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 852
Yes, what else would you expect, a "*" drive in windows explorer  :lol:

I never noticed a format dialog, are you sure it was not caused by an other program?

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #55 on: March 28, 2015, 09:38:12 AM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
Yup, it is your program.. When creating VHD

ila_rendered

I knew a * was wild - just a common guy,  verifying the already known
« Last Edit: March 28, 2015, 09:40:30 AM by KYHI »

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #56 on: March 28, 2015, 10:13:16 AM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 852
What I mean, this is not how diskpart / windows should behave.

Is there any other tool running like "usb drive letter manager" for example?

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #57 on: March 28, 2015, 12:37:06 PM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
No just your program - as soon as the vhd is created - windows assigns a drive letter and pops up a format windows..
Then your program finishes assign and format.. Even though I pre-assigned N it pops up as Y..

I tested VHD creation many times today with diskpart on Windows 8.1 x64 - my first results where the same as I am reporting to you now..
I was able to over come the issue by using the layout in the codebox..  Formats without windows format popup and assigns my pre-assigned drive letter to the mounted VHD..

I did notice that the BCD "Integrity checks" where removed - But I have to keep adding in "DisplayBootMenu" the "timeout" is already there
And everytime I add a new VHD to the boot drive - I have to re-add DisplayBootMenu, it gets removed or over-written

ila_rendered

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #58 on: March 28, 2015, 01:11:58 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7052
Hi,

I want to inform I can reproduce on fresh Win81 (emulator)  :thumbsup:
( my host do not pop up that message anymore , I don't know what changed ! , maybe "Hide empty drives" disabled ! )


@JFX,

on xp, as you know if you do not click drive letter this message do not pop up,
on w7, I don't know,
on w8, when a new vdisk attached (or when primary partition created ..) , pop up message appears (and stupid message do not disappear after format)

++
it also happened on Fakedisk -> SE http://TheOven.org/index.php?topic=1068.msg13746#msg13746 (also check reply 26)
I had used
automount disable
...
automount enable
to avoid, but this maybe not good for hostos !

 well you can easily reproduce on FakeDisk - Win81SE by disabling automount lines  :wink:



***
Overall, no big trouble, only informing  :thumbsup:

:turtle:

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #59 on: March 28, 2015, 02:37:28 PM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
automount disable
create partition
online volume
format
automount enable
assign letter

Worked on 8.1 Host..

WinNTsetup format popup with Empty drives - hidden or not..
« Last Edit: March 28, 2015, 02:43:40 PM by KYHI »

 

Powered by EzPortal