Topic: Microsoft Security Essentials  (Read 1314 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Microsoft Security Essentials
« on: July 12, 2015, 05:07:03 PM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
ANTIVIRUS

Microsoft Security Essentials with Real Time Protection
Split Antivirus and Downloader into 2 Plugins place both in Apps\Security\Antivirus
Everything you need is there MSE plugin click the download link then locate and extract.
MSEDownloader plugin Launch program and click download "Do Not Close" it will close when finished
In online PE use downloader to Update Virus Definition. Be patient it has to extract files after download.

MSE v4
* MSE v4.7z (1696.02 kB - downloaded 43 times.)
In 8.1 SE Set Antivirus to Run from Ram (Program Files) and It seems to merge completely.
7 SE or Run from Normal After starting Security Essentials click Turn on Button to activate.
Set MSEDownloader plugin to Run from Normal (Programs)
Target Dir Programs\MSEDownloader any other location and Updates lost after reboot
« Last Edit: February 02, 2017, 09:30:53 PM by trashy »

Re: Microsoft Security Essentials (BETA)
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2015, 11:31:07 AM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
OBSOLETE

Microsoft Security Essentials antivirus

Updated Dec,22, 2015

Microsoft Security Essentials can only be installed on Win 7 or previous.
Requires MSE to be installed on Host OS

Use desktop shortcut then click start to activate, Real Time protection working.
Virus definition update function seemed to work sometimes but will not register after reboot.
Created a separate program to manually update virus definitions.

I prefer to run No Image file with all files extracted to usb hard drive 20 to 30 gb partition (not a thumb drive)
However I also tested all file packed to wim.
I'm running MSE to protect my PE and booting Defender Offline.wim for scanning offline HDD.
The definition update program I'm working on will update for both.

Works on 64 and 32 bit, Host Arch and Source Arch MUST MATCH.
Contains 2 script files, place both in Apps\Security\Antivirus and build.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2016, 04:18:07 PM by trashy »

Re: Microsoft Security Essentials
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2016, 08:44:41 AM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
Merry Christmas!

I was working on this 6 - 8 months ago and never quite finished.
Extracting program files from .msi everything was there but most had to be renamed during extraction.
Then the 7z cmd line utility I was testing with was  an old version and just extracted everything.
The newer version 7z cmd line used in winbuilder extracted program files as a .cab.
Took me a bit to catch what was happening.

This is how I wanted it from the beginning "no install on host required".
For now you need to start MSE with one of the shortcuts. Next update will
add option to autostart along with fixing any bugs that may arise. 
« Last Edit: December 20, 2016, 08:46:19 AM by trashy »

Re: Microsoft Security Essentials
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2017, 10:04:04 PM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
I used the Run from Here scroll to set Program and AV database path in the Registry.
This has been a tricky process to figure out. Program and Definition path must be set in Registry
or the whole thing fails. Program default location Program Files\Microsoft Security Essentials.
Virus definition database default location ProgramData\Microsoft\Microsoft Antimalware\Definition Updates.
Put the definition files any where else and it really doesn't like it!

I hope I got it right this time. Tested thoroughly in 7 and 8.1 and it seems to be stable.
In 8.1 running Security Essentials from Program Files it seems to merge completely the program starts activated.
Haven't tested in 10 but I have faith the out come will be the same.

Ain't it funny you step back from something for awhile and go back to it later and a light just goes off.
I'm no code wizard but i feel like been on a streak lately, it may be about over.

 

Powered by EzPortal