Topic: Fails to boot with BSOD  (Read 8212 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Fails to boot with BSOD
« on: September 13, 2015, 07:28:42 AM »

amit_talkin

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 13
I am messing with latest Win10PE available. But it gives me following error just after booting the ISO.


I tried both default script setting as well as custom ones. Tried both 32bit and 64bit Win10 versions with both image indexes.
Any clues?

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2015, 11:28:17 PM »

amit_talkin

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 13
no one? :sad:

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2015, 03:22:01 AM »

ChrisR

  • Moderator, Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2911
What source do you use ?
Here is a link to get an official Windows 10: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/techbench
To be safer, use "Utils\Extracted Wim folders", Goooo button?

With what tool, do you created your USB stick, disk or CD ?

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2015, 03:47:48 AM »

amit_talkin

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 13
What source do you use ?
Here is a link to get an official Windows 10: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/techbench
To be safer, use "Utils\Extracted Wim folders", Goooo button?

With what tool, do you created your USB stick, disk or CD ?

Thanks for reply.
I am using MSDN original Win10 files from the ISO.
I dont use USB stick or CD, just using bootable ISO which is created by Win10PE Builder.
I tested the ISO on VMWare and it gives me error as I mentioned above. Tried both 32bit and 64bit OS sources, as well as Image index 1 and 2.

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2015, 04:05:42 AM »

ChrisR

  • Moderator, Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2911
No Idea then, I use the same :confused:
Do you have Warnings in the log and do you use Extracted Wim folders,  ?

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2015, 04:25:55 AM »

amit_talkin

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 13
Nope, Will try extracted WIM source. Do I need to extract both install.wim and boot.wim and use it as source? or just install.wim will do the job?

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2015, 05:12:55 AM »

ChrisR

  • Moderator, Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2911
Use the plugin in "Utils\Extract wim folders" button Goooo
It extract both install.wim and winre.wim

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2015, 07:53:59 AM »

amit_talkin

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 13
Okey, tried with extracted wim. same error.
Tried different settings in VMWare, tried EFI mode. gives same error ( in EFI mode in VMWare it shows winload.efi error instead of winload.exe ).
Am I the only one getting this error?

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2015, 09:33:06 AM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
verify that your "Source" and "Image Configuration script" Infomation
Match the same Arch

Try to clear Image Configuration Info > small square top right
then save / get wim info

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2015, 11:24:28 AM »

chameleon215

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 3
I have gotten the same error when booting using a USB stick, so far no luck in getting it to boot properly.

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2015, 07:37:33 PM »

amit_talkin

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 13
verify that your "Source" and "Image Configuration script" Infomation
Match the same Arch

Try to clear Image Configuration Info > small square top right
then save / get wim info
Ye I double checked ( actually checked more than 10 times ) all those settings, everything is fine. Curiously checked SHA-1 checksum of the Win10 ISO I am using, its same as MSDN. So Source must not be an issue.
Win8PE works fine, but got no luck with Win10PE.

I have gotten the same error when booting using a USB stick, so far no luck in getting it to boot properly.
Okey good to see that I am not the only one with this error.

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #11 on: September 14, 2015, 09:16:52 PM »

ChrisR

  • Moderator, Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2911
So, Your original ISO should start well.
Note that the ISOs here are the same with sames Sha-1
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/techbench

Following your error 0xc0000098:
Win10pese should start the same way then, the boot files are the same.
Only the bcd has a minor change: set locale %DistLang% and set timeout.
Perhaps an issue with your AV while copying, then. Again, with the same boot files, it should start the same way.

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #12 on: September 14, 2015, 09:43:20 PM »

amit_talkin

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 13
So, Your original ISO should start well.
Note that the ISOs here are the same with sames Sha-1
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/techbench

Following your error 0xc0000098:
Win10pese should start the same way then, the boot files are the same.
Only the bcd has a minor change: set locale %DistLang% and set timeout.
Perhaps an issue with your AV while copying, then. Again, with the same boot files, it should start the same way.
You mean to say Win8.1 and Win10 has same WinPE?
I always disable AV before working with Win10PE, so that shouldn't be an issue.

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #13 on: September 14, 2015, 10:33:09 PM »

ChrisR

  • Moderator, Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2911
No, I mean that Win10pese uses the same boot files as Windows 10.
The start process is the same with the same files used. So, if Win 10 starts properly, Win10pese should start also (at least at this step 0xc0000098).
« Last Edit: September 14, 2015, 10:39:53 PM by ChrisR »

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #14 on: September 15, 2015, 02:01:02 AM »

amit_talkin

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 13
No, I mean that Win10pese uses the same boot files as Windows 10.
The start process is the same with the same files used. So, if Win 10 starts properly, Win10pese should start also (at least at this step 0xc0000098).

hmm, may be some hives/registry not loading? May be Winbuilder missing some system files while creating WinPE? What can cause such error?

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #15 on: September 16, 2015, 08:32:18 AM »

amit_talkin

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 13
Update:

I tried to build WinPE10 on Windows 8.1 instead of currently running Windows 10. Surprisingly it worked fine without an issue.
On windows 8.1 I didn't install ADK or anything, just run Win10PE and it worked fine, while it fails on Win10 with latest ADK ( while even Win10PE don't use any of ADK tools if I am not wrong ).
Don't know what is wrong with Win10 here. May its because I removed cortana, search2, and bitdefender from system using DISM? can it cause such error?

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #16 on: September 16, 2015, 11:48:56 AM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
You Can Not use your Current Running OS as The Source for Win10PESE...

You need to download the windows 10 Setup media > http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/techbench

Double Click the Windows 10 ISO, you just downloaded, to mount it and then copy all the ISO contains into a folder on your hdd (ie C:\PEsource )

Then open winbuilder and select the "Source tab" and point to or select the folder you just created  (ie C:\PEsource )
« Last Edit: September 16, 2015, 11:50:52 AM by KYHI »

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #17 on: September 16, 2015, 07:52:31 PM »

amit_talkin

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 13
You Can Not use your Current Running OS as The Source for Win10PESE...

You need to download the windows 10 Setup media > http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/techbench

Double Click the Windows 10 ISO, you just downloaded, to mount it and then copy all the ISO contains into a folder on your hdd (ie C:\PEsource )

Then open winbuilder and select the "Source tab" and point to or select the folder you just created  (ie C:\PEsource )
I think You misunderstood me. What I said is that running Winbuilder on Win10 OS and selecting extracted ISO ( e.g. H:\Win10ExtractedISO ) as source and building Win10PESE ISO giving me BSOD as mentioned earlier.
While running Winbuilder on Win8.1 OS and selecting same win10 extracted ISO folder as source and building Win10PESE ISO works fine without any error. I am not selecting running OS as a source.

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #18 on: September 16, 2015, 08:12:37 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7374
Hi,

Maybe something new with Win10 Host,
http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=1383.0

:turtle:

Re: Fails to boot with BSOD
« Reply #19 on: September 16, 2015, 08:22:57 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7374
Hi amit_talkin,

If you can do following, maybe we can figure out,
(I don't have Win10 host around to test...)

extract Win10PESE zip to a new folder on both Win10 host and Win8 Host,

after both extract, at
Main Configuration\--> Enable "Create Support Log"

you will get 7z Support Log files on your base folder,

post both here,
We can compare them and see if we can catch  :thumbsup:

:turtle:

 

Powered by EzPortal