Topic: ShutdownPE  (Read 2524 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ShutdownPE
« on: June 26, 2016, 10:36:53 AM »

Goodwin

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 11
Has anyone tested ShutdownPE script in Win10PESE yet? Was curious to know if it could be integrated into the shutdown process like it worked so well in Win7PESE. Im not currently able to test on my PE creation system because its down at the moment so thought I'd ask the forum.

Thanks all.

Re: ShutdownPE
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2016, 07:33:40 AM »

JFX

  • Moderator, Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 878
ShutdownPE was never updated to work with Windows 8/10, so I would not recommend using it.

Re: ShutdownPE
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2016, 04:03:23 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7171
as far as I remember ShutdownPE was created to be sure hd was first flush than shutdown. And a nice menu for shutdown.
( Later more integrated ...)

Just to info, there is Flush (by Galapo) available
\Downloads\AppsYGS\System Tools\"Flush"

which you can first Flush than shut down PE.

Re: ShutdownPE
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2016, 04:52:29 PM »

Goodwin

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 11
Thanks for the response guys. The only reason I ask is that the eject cd/dvd tray option was useful. Keeps folks from forgetting to eject discs so if shutdownPE isnt an option does anyone know of a way to auto eject the tray during shutdown? I do use flash drive mainly but sometimes I use discs so...

Re: ShutdownPE
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2016, 11:28:15 PM »

ChrisR

  • Moderator, Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2869
There is an option available with pecmd in system tray, right or left click: Eject and Shutdown.
However, I have not tried the eject function, I did not burn any CD\DVD for a long time.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2016, 11:29:58 PM by ChrisR »

Re: ShutdownPE
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2017, 07:41:18 AM »

Homes32

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 109
ShutdownPE was never updated to work with Windows 8/10, so I would not recommend using it.
Not true. ShutdownPE was updated for Win 8.1. the latest release is 1.5.x and was posted back in Jan of 2015 script version is .17
I do not know why chrisR continued to use the old 1.4.x version. He never reported any issues on the 1.5 beta. as far as I am aware there are no outstanding issues with 1.5.x


as far as I remember ShutdownPE was created to be sure hd was first flush than shutdown. And a nice menu for shutdown.
( Later more integrated ...)

ShutdownPE was originally written for and was the fist GUI for Win7PE. Before shutdownPE the only way to shutdown/reboot was to create shortcuts directly to winpeutil.exe and there was no way to eject CD's
ShutdownPE fulfilled this need and added the additional safety of flushing file-buffers and the option to run additional programs before shutdown (ie unmount, save logs, etc)
a bit later if added integration into the start menu shutdown/reboot options (which were previously non-functional) so the start menu was usable and had the benefit of flushing buffers, running scripts, ejecting cd's etc.

Re: ShutdownPE
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2017, 07:58:37 AM »

JFX

  • Moderator, Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 878
Hi Homes32,

welcome back after quite a long time  :smile:

Not true. ShutdownPE was updated for Win 8.1. the latest release is 1.5.x and was posted back in Jan of 2015 script version is .17
I do not know why chrisR continued to use the old 1.4.x version. He never reported any issues on the 1.5 beta. as far as I am aware there are no outstanding issues with 1.5.x
Oh, my bad. Can you post a link to it, cause I'm still can not find this 1.5.x version.  :confused:
« Last Edit: January 28, 2017, 07:58:56 AM by JFX »

Re: ShutdownPE
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2017, 08:02:19 AM »

Homes32

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 109
its good to be back! :)
I changed jobs a few years ago so it cut into my developing time considerably lol and I was married this last Feb so my wife demands my time as well!

my old wb subdomain and download  is acting up so give me a bit to dig up the last published script (plugin for lancelot :) or compile a new one.

nice to see you still around :)

Re: ShutdownPE
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2017, 11:50:02 AM »

Goodwin

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 11
Hey Homes32 good to see you back. I'm looking forward to seeing the updated version and working on my PE again :) Thanks for the info and congrats on the marriage bro. It's a great adventure to have in ones life.

Re: ShutdownPE
« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2017, 01:11:01 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7171
(plugin for lancelot :) or compile a new one.

It will be good to have a ShutdownPE topic, on Plugin  :wink: section   :great:
http://theoven.org/index.php?board=9.0

tip:
"Utils\PC Packed" improved a lot to quickly create a new plugin with new version  :wink:

:turtle:

Re: ShutdownPE
« Reply #10 on: February 01, 2017, 01:28:42 AM »

ChrisR

  • Moderator, Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2869
It's beeen a while now Homes32. Congratulation for your wedding  :thumbsup:

I do not know why chrisR continued to use the old 1.4.x version. He never reported any issues on the 1.5 beta. as far as I am aware there are no outstanding issues with 1.5.x
I vaguely remember a version 1.5 beta indeed but no much more, it's old now and I don't find it on my backups.
Let us know for a version 1.5 if you find it.

Re: ShutdownPE
« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2017, 06:40:14 AM »

Homes32

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 109
found it. pretty sure this was the GA release. let me know if something is borked. I dusted off the code and have been tinkering with getting kb controls (tab/enter) working for v1.6. something I have wanted since forever but MS has made difficult with icon controls.

Re: ShutdownPE
« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2017, 04:35:31 PM »

SIW2

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 174
Pecmd hooks in automatically. It uses the normal restart and shutdown options on the start menu.

Re: ShutdownPE
« Reply #13 on: March 09, 2017, 12:22:22 PM »

Homes32

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 109
Pecmd hooks in automatically. It uses the normal restart and shutdown options on the start menu.

So does ShutdownPE. Whats your point?

This thread is about a user wanting the additional features of ShutdownPE.

PEcmd does not:
  • give the option to eject cd/media on shutdown/reboot. Something the OP desires
  • allow you to lock the screen
  • perform a safe shutdown after flushing all buffers to disk
  • allow you to run a user defined program or script before shutdown/restart
All things ShutdowPE does.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2017, 12:26:20 PM by Homes32 »

 

Powered by EzPortal