Topic: problems with Firefox plugin & Win10PESE  (Read 621 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

problems with Firefox plugin & Win10PESE
« on: December 11, 2016, 01:11:47 AM »

mbarnes86

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Nov 2016
  • Posts: 1
Hi

for some time I have problems with Firefox in Win10PE SE

If I download a web page or a program file etc Firefox crashes &  Firefox window closes
previously there was no message from Firefox but with December Win10PESE & Firefox 50.02 I get a error  window message

This behaviour also affects Portable Firefox V 30

I guess there is a missing DLL or two

I noticed that 7-Zip popped up a message when I wanted to download a ZIP file, I let 7-Zip handle the download and Firefox did not crash

I am building on Win 7 SP1 x64 (though I had same problem with Win 7 SP1 x32)

Source is Win 10 Enterprise 90 day free trial LTS   from July 2015  (X64)
destination is a USB memory stick

If you dont have this problem then I wonder what other plugins are adding the required DLL's

I have used BartPE + UBCD4Win  projects for XP PE
Then Make PE 3  for Win 7 based PE
at reboot.pro/topic/11852-make-pe3-program-to-create-portable-windows-7-pe/

Finally I am learning about Win10PE SE to deal with modern PC's with UEFI

regards
Mike Barnes

Re: problems with Firefox plugin & Win10PESE
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2016, 01:12:36 AM »

ChrisR

  • Moderator, Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2809
With delay,
I have not noted here, anyone else with the same problem ?

Re: problems with Firefox plugin & Win10PESE
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2016, 03:10:31 PM »

Prz42

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 409
Not that I have any problems with Firefox, but I was wondering if Lancelot has a good way
to update both the plugin and the plugin file container? I updated Firefox and it downloaded the new
version, but did download the file container.      :scooter:

Re: problems with Firefox plugin & Win10PESE
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2016, 11:19:45 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 6945
I was wondering if Lancelot has a good way to update both the plugin and the plugin file container?
both plugin and plugin file container have Download/Upload buttons.
+
Plugin have "Download Container..." button

I do not understand what is required ????


Re: problems with Firefox plugin & Win10PESE
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2016, 11:30:03 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 6945
@ mbarnes86

Follow project Main Plugin to get instructions about source you need to use
Projects do not work with all windows distributions, modified sources not supported at all....
Also
See FAQ
http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=834.0
at begining of FAQ there are instructions for new users and frequent failures....

*
define your trouble with "Real Reproducible" way

so anyone who want to feedback you would easily follow Real Path you wrote  :wink: .

shortly: write such post and give instruction to make people who like to feedback you live the trouble you face.  :cool:

*
Firefox application does not have stable design, it continues its evolution with core design changes,
follow only Firefox plugin

*
I have used BartPE + UBCD4Win projects for XP PE
Sadly both BartPE and UBCD4Win seems to be death for some years...
Here we have Gena, FireFox plugin works on all SE and Gena together.

*
Also check other tutorials at Tutorial section
http://theoven.org/index.php?board=35.0

:turtle:

Re: problems with Firefox plugin & Win10PESE
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2016, 09:00:40 AM »

Prz42

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 409
both plugin and plugin file container have Download/Upload buttons.
+
Plugin have "Download Container..." button

The plugin file container does have a Download/Upload buttons, but it is hidden.
Code: [Select]
Level=0

Re: problems with Firefox plugin & Win10PESE
« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2016, 11:29:11 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 6945
The plugin file container does have a Download/Upload buttons, but it is hidden.
Code: [Select]
Level=0

That is the reason plugin already have "Download Container..." button
---->

+
Plugin have "Download Container..." button

which you already quote on your post

+
Plugin have "Download Container..." button






****
If this does not fit what you are asking for, still same position I am:
I do not understand what is required ????

As I wrote on other current topic yesterday:

*
define your trouble with "Real Reproducible" way

so anyone who want to feedback you would easily follow Real Path you wrote  :wink: .

shortly: write such post and give instruction to make people who like to feedback you live the trouble you face.  :cool:


:turtle:
« Last Edit: December 17, 2016, 12:27:39 PM by Lancelot »

Re: problems with Firefox plugin & Win10PESE
« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2016, 01:31:13 PM »

Prz42

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 409
Hi Lancelot,
I'm bad the download button is off to the right hand side.
Thanks for the information.

Re: problems with Firefox plugin & Win10PESE
« Reply #8 on: December 18, 2016, 12:14:10 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 6945
I'm bad the download button is off to the right hand side.

Same button on all plugins that have file container more than a year !

So nothing missing after this series of posts, and even first reply was enough, time......

Anyway, life goes.... :turtle:

 

Powered by EzPortal