Topic: Help creating my first WinPE  (Read 3194 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Re: Help creating my first WinPE
« Reply #20 on: January 01, 2017, 09:15:56 AM »

Prz42

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 427
Hit the blue button.  Then save the log file and post the log file.

Re: Help creating my first WinPE
« Reply #21 on: January 01, 2017, 09:36:27 AM »

DocDJ

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Dec 2016
  • Posts: 18
How do I attach the log file? Or do I just copy & paste it?

Re: Help creating my first WinPE
« Reply #22 on: January 01, 2017, 09:37:35 AM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
Ah Ha.. Your media contains

•MediaMeta.xml

which will not work............

You need to use a different Win10 Source Disk > download the New Windows 10 ISO from Techbench..

* Windows ISO Downloader.7z (296.15 kB - downloaded 45 times.)
« Last Edit: January 01, 2017, 09:39:00 AM by KYHI »

Re: Help creating my first WinPE
« Reply #23 on: January 01, 2017, 09:38:08 AM »

DocDJ

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Dec 2016
  • Posts: 18
And where IS the log file??

Re: Help creating my first WinPE
« Reply #24 on: January 01, 2017, 09:44:15 AM »

DocDJ

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Dec 2016
  • Posts: 18
downloading the ISO now. Then I will mount it and retry the build.

Re: Help creating my first WinPE
« Reply #25 on: January 01, 2017, 01:08:50 PM »

DocDJ

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Dec 2016
  • Posts: 18
Downloaded the ISO. Mounted it. Set to build onto my USB drive (WriteMedia option 4). Clicked Play. Eventually, got a message "drive L: not found", but it kept processing. When done, USB drive is empty. And it never asked where the USB drive is located.

Re: Help creating my first WinPE
« Reply #26 on: January 01, 2017, 02:05:16 PM »

Prz42

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 427
I think you are almost got it.  In write media and (Copy to USB) just
click the green arrow and it will run that Plugin. Underneath where it
says (Please select the root directory of your USB-Device:) select our
drive where the USB is located. After you run the plugin you can check
the log and see if that plugin ran successfully.        :scooter:

Re: Help creating my first WinPE
« Reply #27 on: January 01, 2017, 03:29:59 PM »

DocDJ

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Dec 2016
  • Posts: 18
Hurray! The USB did get written. I'll boot it tomorrow AM to test it. THANK YOU!!! :w00t:

Is there a way to setup the script so it copies to USB as part of the regular run? I am hoping to add some portable apps and would like to streamline the process. I have been reading MaximumPC, where they describe the process. Also, I'm not really clear about the difference between the two "copy to USB" options.

Re: Help creating my first WinPE
« Reply #28 on: January 01, 2017, 09:45:51 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7076
Ah Ha.. Your media contains

•MediaMeta.xml

Try to build Win10PESE with MediaMeta.xml (even empty) on your source  :wink:

 .......  :whistling:

Re: Help creating my first WinPE
« Reply #29 on: January 02, 2017, 03:01:55 AM »

KYHI

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Date Registered: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 909
And ????

Re: Help creating my first WinPE
« Reply #30 on: January 02, 2017, 03:03:40 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7076
And ????
And you get project.ini error or ?

Re: Help creating my first WinPE
« Reply #31 on: January 02, 2017, 06:42:40 AM »

DocDJ

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Dec 2016
  • Posts: 18
Boot started (USB 2.0). After 2 hrs, USB LED pulsed slowly and steadily but screen had gone black. Wiggled mouse and pressed cursor keys. No response. Could there be a relation to the fact that my REAL boot and "Documents" drives are SSD's running in AHCI mode (which required a registry tweak in Win 7 before I upgraded to Win10)? On my next build, I will do it onto a USB 3 stick for boot speed.

Re: Help creating my first WinPE
« Reply #32 on: January 07, 2017, 09:38:05 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7076
And ????
And you get project.ini error or ?

so I assume you get project.ini error, Wow

 

Powered by EzPortal