Topic: Network Credential Fix  (Read 800 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Network Credential Fix
« on: December 29, 2016, 02:34:35 AM »

2aCD

  • Code Baker
  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Location: Dresden, Germany
  • Date Registered: May 2013
  • Posts: 80
Hi all together,
at first many thanks for the hard work to run a Win10PE. Spezial thanks to ChrisR  :great:

I have found a little fix for a working network credentialUI to use the Map Networkdrive function from explorer.
The problem is, Microsoft use XAML-forms for any popup-windows, also for network-credentials. This is not working in PE.
But we can disable this and then windows use the classic credential windows.
This is only a little registry key

Code: [Select]
RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,"Tmp_Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Authentication\LogonUI\TestHooks",XamlCredUIAvailable,0
If,%SourceArch%,Equal,x64,RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,"Tmp_Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Authentication\LogonUI\TestHooks",XamlCredUIAvailable,0

I have add this lines in the Explorer.script for testing (hi Chris, I don't know if this the right place)
Here you can download the modified script for testing:

* 1-Explorer.7z (1083.43 kB - downloaded 72 times.)

best regards
2aCD

Re: Network Credential Fix
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2016, 07:16:53 AM »

ChrisR

  • Moderator, Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2809
Hi 2aCD,

It's nice to see you my friend :xmas-thumbsup:
That's great, thanks  :xmas-good:
Of course, you are welcome if you see other stuff  :xmas-cool:
I let it in explorer with others previous registry tweak: disable modern Battery UI, Volume Control, Clock and Calendar
i just added WOW6432Node for x64. It is on the server
It's time to prepare for New Year's party. Happy New Year to All  :bananaguit: :drunk: with moderation. :xmas-thumbsup:

Re: Network Credential Fix
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2017, 10:56:05 PM »

2aCD

  • Code Baker
  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Location: Dresden, Germany
  • Date Registered: May 2013
  • Posts: 80
Happy new Year to all :cheerleader:

I have now tested the Fix also in our domain-environment. Now you can use the UNC-path also from explorer to connect with your server.
The credentials-window is popping up, just like in Win7PE.  :smile:

Hi Chris, I hope you are fine. You did an excellent job with win10.  :thumbup:
I need a little bit time to look at everything.

best regards
2aCD

Re: Network Credential Fix
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2017, 05:24:09 AM »

sflach

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Apr 2015
  • Posts: 15
This is awesome 2aCD - Wasted lots of time to find a solution to this.

 

Powered by EzPortal