Topic: PluginManger not working correctly!?  (Read 2290 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PluginManger not working correctly!?
« on: January 26, 2017, 10:26:54 AM »

Rui Paz

  • Code Baker
  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 47
Hi,

Just did an Update of my Win7PE SE using the Update Win7PESE (Exact and Secure) script before I did this I use the PluginManager to backup my configuration (41 tasks when I hit the Play button)

After the update pressing the Play button now shows 61 tasks selected instead of 41!

Also after the update the PluginManager didn't show the configuration I saved before, found it after hitting the Refresh button on the Restore panel, did the restore and got the expected 41 tasks selected. It seems the auto backup and restore done by the Update plugin isn't doing the job correctly!

Another thing I notice, there is a new plug-in for "A0MEI Backupper Standard & Pro v4.0.0.0" on the server (that's why I use the update feature) after the update the "A0MEI Backupper Standard & Pro - Plugin Download" description isn't updated to match the new version that will be downloaded!

Maybe I'm missing something on this last part but it seems the Download plugin needs a description update...

Regards.


Re: PluginManger not working correctly!?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2017, 12:19:38 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7511
Maybe I'm missing something on this last part but it seems the Download plugin needs a description update...
\Downloads\ plugins works fine,
 but not updated following plugin updates,
   that is the reason Title, Description and Version not changed
     reason behind is winbuilder bug, to re create \Downloads\ it takes some hours since it "stuck" permanently following winbuilder memory bug ....
     to fix "creating download plugins" should be written with autoit etc. Requires too much time we do not always have....

That is the reason for now we only add / remove new plugins to \Downloads\ ,
 Title, Description and Version does not effect its usability, at most Title may have a Beta etc, Desciption may have new version no of app, nothing important.
 Or shortly:
 Since \Downloads\ plugins operationally works fine  :thumbsup: Title, Description and Version updates ignored...

One of Next medium free time, it will be a bit more workarounded to fit Title, Description and Version  :thumbsup:

*
About update,
 you need to give more info about 41 to 61 in a way so we can reproduce. ???????????

*
and as you are old user, following forum for a long while,
 you already know and I am pretty sure saw related topics through years ....,
  we use term plugins and do not support old script,
  use correct terminology.

:turtle:
« Last Edit: January 27, 2017, 12:20:03 AM by Lancelot »

Re: PluginManger not working correctly!?
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2017, 03:56:56 AM »

Rui Paz

  • Code Baker
  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 47
Maybe I'm missing something on this last part but it seems the Download plugin needs a description update...
Hi,

\Downloads\ plugins works fine,
 but not updated following plugin updates,
   that is the reason Title, Description and Version not changed
     reason behind is winbuilder bug, to re create \Downloads\ it takes some hours since it "stuck" permanently following winbuilder memory bug ....
     to fix "creating download plugins" should be written with autoit etc. Requires too much time we do not always have....
In this case isn't a Winbuilder problem because closing and opening the program can't make it show a new description that wasn't changed.

Quote
That is the reason for now we only add / remove new plugins to \Downloads\ ,
 Title, Description and Version does not effect its usability, at most Title may have a Beta etc, Desciption may have new version no of app, nothing important.
 Or shortly:
 Since \Downloads\ plugins operationally works fine  :thumbsup: Title, Description and Version updates ignored...

One of Next medium free time, it will be a bit more workarounded to fit Title, Description and Version  :thumbsup:
The version number suggest the plugin is only for that specific version. My Suggestion, remove the version number on the download plugin and add something like "Download latest version available on server". This way there is less work on updating thinks and a user will not think that the plugin will not work with latest version like it happen to me (I found the answer on the yomi index list...)
Quote
*
About update,
 you need to give more info about 41 to 61 in a way so we can reproduce. ???????????

If you read my description is very simple to reproduce!
- download the zipped version (or use some outdated copy) of the project, extract
- select only some plugins and take note of the number of tasks it shows when you press the Play button (cancel the execution no need to build)
- run the plugin Update Win7PESE (Exact and Secure) and let it run
- press the Play button and check now how many tasks it shows?

___
Rui Paz

Re: PluginManger not working correctly!?
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2017, 04:20:55 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7511
In this case isn't a Winbuilder problem because closing and opening the program can't make it show a new description that wasn't changed.
Yes:
 ........  it is a well known very very old winbuilder bug.

 no automatic workaround, but a manual workaround:
    click edit button on plugin, and close editor ;)
.....

(I found the answer on the yomi index list...)

index list also not always updated  :wink:
 but still ALL index list more frequently updated than ALL \Downloads\
Later
 when workaround operational for \Downloads\ , ALL \Downloads\ will get always updated and supersede index list update

*
I agree version not change solution,
 If I had time to re create all \Downloads\
   (it takes some hours because of winbuilder bug...., I have to deserve half day.. )
    I will also get workaround operational so there no need version not change solution too....
     Also it will help on version compare the way you think about.  :thumbsup:
       I did not think such thing at first, I initially create \Downloads\ to get all aware and download plugins on servers... good idea  :thumbsup:

*
Overall,
Utils\Update.. Update button always work solid as a rock to synchronize with servers for years now.

Things improve, but slowly.....

*
I could reproduce just before your post,
 I see Plugin settings preserved but only selected= values not.
  Since Plugin settings preserved, it missed from eyes.......

It seems one of recent update Chris or Galapo made about this subject
 could not fit desired result about a special Selected case....

I believe they will respond when they have some free time...

ps: PluginManager have its own topic  :wink:

Lancelot
:turtle:
« Last Edit: January 27, 2017, 04:44:21 AM by Lancelot »

Re: PluginManger not working correctly!?
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2017, 04:38:30 AM »

Rui Paz

  • Code Baker
  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 47
ps: PluginManager have its own topic  :wink:

Where? I use the search function to look for PluginManager and the first 5 pages of results didn't list any specific topic about this!

Re: PluginManger not working correctly!?
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2017, 04:40:20 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7511
Another Idea would be:
 adding "check new version" button on plugin,
  to check if new version available on server about that plugin....

It maybe better for plugins under Yomi...

But near feature, updating all \Downloads\ with workaround is easier path to me...

All done so far is with available very limited free time .....

+
Another development related to this is,
 checking all Downloaded plugins since last update by end user.
 It is available for a while, but due to winbuilder memory + speed bug it works slow and not publicized
   Only good for frequent updaters (Admins)
     Need to be rewritten with au3 or similar.....

Time....

:turtle:



Re: PluginManger not working correctly!?
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2017, 04:42:55 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7511
ps: PluginManager have its own topic  :wink:

Where? I use the search function to look for PluginManager and the first 5 pages of results didn't list any specific topic about this!

Why not click weblink on
Utils\PluginManager plugin
!

Many plugins have its own topic, link provided by Plugin itself ready to be clicked by end user  :wink:

Re: PluginManger not working correctly!?
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2017, 04:44:52 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7511
Edit on previous post:

index list also not always updated  :wink:
 but still ALL index list more frequently updated than ALL \Downloads\
Later
 when workaround operational for \Downloads\ , ALL \Downloads\ will get always updated and supersede index list update

Re: PluginManger not working correctly!?
« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2017, 04:59:20 AM »

Rui Paz

  • Code Baker
  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 47
ps: PluginManager have its own topic  :wink:

Where? I use the search function to look for PluginManager and the first 5 pages of results didn't list any specific topic about this!

Why not click weblink on
Utils\PluginManager plugin
!

Many plugins have its own topic, link provided by Plugin itself ready to be clicked by end user  :wink:

Yep you are right and I know that but forgot about it and only use the search function on the forum.  :embarrassed:

Re: PluginManger not working correctly!?
« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2017, 04:34:55 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7511
Hi Rui Paz,

The version number suggest the plugin is only for that specific version. My Suggestion, remove the version number on the download plugin and add something like "Download latest version available on server". This way there is less work on updating thinks and a user will not think that the plugin will not work with latest version like it happen to me (I found the answer on the yomi index list...)


I checked more about \Downloads\ plugins,
I set version 1 default
and on description I add
Description=DESCRIPTION CAN BE OLD -

=> since description mostly useful about what one download,
 only "old" thing inside is generally version number of application, rest still useful


As written Recreating all \Downloads\ takes half day due to winbuilder bug,
For now
New plugins added \Downloads\ will have this update.
ex:
\Downloads\ComponentsY\IE Flash (ActiveX only)

When \Downloads\ recreated (refreshed) all will be that way.
=>
I re check, It is not possible to implement a workaround quickly...


*
Since \Downloads\ mainly created
 + to get end user aware about available plugins (success  :thumbsup: )
 + to properly download and get plugins operational (instead of frequent mistake project folder) (success  :thumbsup: )
     http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=1208.0
 + and instruct to feedback easily to download and use  (success  :thumbsup: )
    ex: reply 3 - 4 http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=2010.msg22570#msg22570

It is missed to also have "version" and "description" match ...
 I was initially designed static, and wrong foot with winbuilder that makes it hours to re create....
 Currently, with available free time, we can not redesign this to add "version" and "description" match.
   Any volunteer welcome.

*
Pluginmanager seems to require more time to get fixed, Galapo seems to be very busy.
 Well, not retired, with job, home and family quite limits the things we can work on and speed.
   I still update work on 2 tasks I start last and previous summer time to time.

Always forward., Slowy slowly  :wink:

You will know around when Pluginmanager related things fixed.  :great:

 :turtle:

Re: PluginManger not working correctly!?
« Reply #10 on: February 01, 2017, 02:36:29 AM »

Galapo

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Location: Australia
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 2005
Yes, very, very busy at the moment.

Just a quick update. I've been able to fix one of the issues indentified; I'm not sure about the other. Lancelot will test and let me know. :heh:

Regards,
Galapo.

Re: PluginManger not working correctly!?
« Reply #11 on: February 01, 2017, 05:14:12 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7511
Hi Galapo , Rui Paz,

I tested and it seems fine to me.

On PluginManager I changed:
PreVerify (Only CREATE backup if plugin selections pass VERIFY) Default Selected False
on server as v41 (version not changed)

On Update XX (Exact and Secure)
I re enable Preserve Plugin settings, which worked fine to me including Rui Paz failure feedback.

@RuiPaz
Use Green Download button on
Utils\PluginManager
Utils\Update XX (Exact and Secure)
plugins and test to see if all work fine now.

:turtle:

Re: PluginManger not working correctly!?
« Reply #12 on: February 01, 2017, 05:14:55 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7511
@RuiPaz

on PluginManager plugin,
when you use "Green Download button"
Back Restore list also refreshed automatically.  :thumbsup:

:turtle:
« Last Edit: February 01, 2017, 05:15:23 AM by Lancelot »

Re: PluginManger not working correctly!?
« Reply #13 on: February 01, 2017, 08:18:27 AM »

Galapo

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Location: Australia
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 2005
Ok, good to hear. Hopefully RuiPaz will be able to test and confirm.

Regards,
Galapo.

 

Powered by EzPortal