Topic: Adding x86 PAE to Win10PE, to used 4GB or more ram  (Read 1399 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Adding x86 PAE to Win10PE, to used 4GB or more ram
« on: February 15, 2017, 12:26:28 PM »

j212

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Feb 2017
  • Posts: 4
I've managed to use PAE patch 3 to change the executables but i cant made the boot changes with bcdedit

-https://wj32.org/wp/2016/02/01/pae-patch-updated-for-windows-10/-

Can some one help me with some pointers for win10PE Version 10.0.14393

Re: Adding x86 PAE to Win10PE, to used 4GB or more ram
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2017, 10:22:57 AM »

cdob

  • Code Baker
  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 36
Which hardware do you use?

Can you clarify: how much RAM is possible at a x86 Win 10? I'm confused about different informations.
64 GB, 128 GB, more?


Win 7 x86 boot.wim ProductPolicy:
Kernel-WindowsMaxMemAllowedx86 131072

Win 8 and Win 10 x86 boot.wim ProductPolicy:
Kernel-WindowsMaxMemAllowedx86 65535

If you boot a default x86 boot.wim, then 8 GB RAM is available at a 8 GB RAM machine.

Kernel-WindowsMaxMemAllowedx86 131072 set at x86 Win10PESE, 8 GB RAM is available at a 8 GB RAM machine.
The default kernel used.

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa366778.aspx
X86 client versions with PAE enabled do have a usable 37-bit (128 GB) physical address space.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physical_Address_Extension
Currently 48 bits of virtual page number are translated, giving a virtual address space of up to 256 TB.

https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/markrussinovich/2008/07/21/pushing-the-limits-of-windows-physical-memory/
the PFN database on a 128GB system requires about 980MB ... making that a reasonable cut off

Re: Adding x86 PAE to Win10PE, to used 4GB or more ram
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2017, 04:06:48 PM »

j212

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Feb 2017
  • Posts: 4
I'm using really old hardware for windows 32bit
core duo T2500 with 4GB, the bios detects 4GB but windows only uses 3GB
Linux uses all 4gb and so does the hackintosh

Re: Adding x86 PAE to Win10PE, to used 4GB or more ram
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2017, 12:53:37 PM »

cdob

  • Code Baker
  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 36
Given different informations, I assume max 128 GB RAM at a x86 PAE system.

ProductPolicy.script is a rip of from 2-Config.script adjusted with ProductOptions:
Kernel-RegisteredProcessors          64
Kernel-MaxPhysicalPage           131072
Kernel-WindowsMaxMemAllowedx86   131072
Kernel-NativeVHDBoot                  1

The settings works at a 32 GB RAM machine.


ProductPolicy.7z
https://www.sendspace.com/file/2kehca
Add this to the Tweaks folder.

The default kernel and hal files are used, no need to patch them.

Re: Adding x86 PAE to Win10PE, to used 4GB or more ram
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2017, 02:42:30 PM »

j212

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Feb 2017
  • Posts: 4
OK,cool.... thanks for the reply!
But I do have a question, did this work for you on a Windows 10 x64 bit kernel ----because, the Windows 10 32bit kernel is limited to 4GB !
Look at the second link from the first reply.

Re: Adding x86 PAE to Win10PE, to used 4GB or more ram
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2017, 02:46:53 PM »

j212

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Feb 2017
  • Posts: 4

[http://i.imgur.com/A0r22dn.png]

Re: Adding x86 PAE to Win10PE, to used 4GB or more ram
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2017, 05:19:45 PM »

cdob

  • Code Baker
  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 36
But I do have a question, did this work for you on a Windows 10 x64 bit kernel ----because, the Windows 10 32bit kernel is limited to 4GB !
X86 is 32 bit.
Yes, it works at 32 bit kernel.

The 32 bit kernel is not limited technically, but truncated artificial.

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa366778.aspx
X86 client versions with PAE enabled do have a usable 37-bit (128 GB) physical address space.

Therefore all 32 bit kernel can access 128 GB RAM.

Be carefull, some third party (graphic card) drivers may not support this.
Try it without adding own graphic card drivers.
Win 8 and Win 10 x86 install.wim ProductPolicy:
Kernel-WindowsMaxMemAllowedx86 4096: max 4 GB RAM

Win 8 and Win 10 x86 boot.wim ProductPolicy:
Kernel-WindowsMaxMemAllowedx86 65535: max 64 GB RAM
If you boot a default 32 bit DVD, then 64 GB RAM are available.

Be careful, some third party graphic card dirvers will fail.
Try it without adding own third party drivers.

 

Powered by EzPortal