Topic: RDC/RDP is the a way to activate the server in WinPE  (Read 982 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

RDC/RDP is the a way to activate the server in WinPE
« on: March 05, 2017, 12:18:52 PM »

ZEE

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Sep 2016
  • Posts: 5
RDC/RDP is the a way to activate the server in WinPE

some times it would be useful that WinPE boot
and stay waiting for a RDC/RDP connection (acting as a RDP server)

?is there a way to inglude the "TermService" / "Remote Desktop Services"
and start the service (depends on DCOM and RPC Endpoint Mapper)

Re: RDC/RDP is the a way to activate the server in WinPE
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2017, 06:25:00 PM »

Galapo

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Location: Australia
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 1968
Hi ZEE,

Sorry, that is a spam-prevention thing with the forum. You will be able to edit posts when you get to about a total of 10 posts.

Welcome to the forum.

 :welcome:

Regards,
Galapo.

Re: RDC/RDP is the a way to activate the server in WinPE
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2017, 10:52:02 AM »

noelBlanc

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 116
hi ZEE,
Sorry for my bad English.
With MicroWinpeBuilder, I play with "Remote Desktop" and Winpe, as i say in the doc PDF.
I put all files and keys. I launch "net start termservice". And service is ok.
But i see this text with eventvwr.msc in  the log  "Windows/TerminalServiceslocalSesionManager" :
 "Remote Desktop Services do not logon because the Setup program is running".
And also, i see that the "TermService" service is not listening on port 3389 with "netstat – ano".
RDP is ok because i can launch mstsc in winpe and open a remote desktop on an other windows10 ( with NLA or not )
I'm not a guru, but, actually, i don't think an RDC incoming winpe can works.
For the fun, i replace it with PowerShell and wsman. i think psexec works. But the two tools are "console mode".
I'm curious, can you say to me why you want use a RDC into winpe?
if  my reply is out of your subject, forget me.

Re: RDC/RDP is the a way to activate the server in WinPE
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2017, 04:15:40 PM »

ZEE

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Sep 2016
  • Posts: 5
Hi ZEE,

Sorry, that is a spam-prevention thing with the forum. You will be able to edit posts when you get to about a total of 10 posts.

Welcome to the forum.

 :welcome:

Regards, :thumbsup:
Galapo. :thumbsup:

Re: RDC/RDP is the a way to activate the server in WinPE
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2017, 04:30:21 PM »

ZEE

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Sep 2016
  • Posts: 5
hi ZEE,
Sorry for my bad English.
With MicroWinpeBuilder, I play with "Remote Desktop" and Winpe, as i say in the doc PDF.
I put all files and keys. I launch "net start termservice". And service is ok.
But i see this text with eventvwr.msc in  the log  "Windows/TerminalServiceslocalSesionManager" :
 "Remote Desktop Services do not logon because the Setup program is running".
And also, i see that the "TermService" service is not listening on port 3389 with "netstat – ano".
RDP is ok because i can launch mstsc in winpe and open a remote desktop on an other windows10 ( with NLA or not )
I'm not a guru, but, actually, i don't think an RDC incoming winpe can works.
For the fun, i replace it with PowerShell and wsman. i think psexec works. But the two tools are "console mode".
I'm curious, can you say to me why you want use a RDC into winpe?
if  my reply is out of your subject, forget me.

Hi Noel...
Glad to see you already done some testing in putting the RDC/RDP server at work in WinPE
about your tests I think that what you see in the log
"Windows/TerminalServiceslocalSesionManager" -> "Remote Desktop Services do not logon because the Setup program is running"
may be result of trying to start the service (net start termservice) inside the System Account

Try tick the "Logon as Admin" and build the image again
(Logon as Admin: Fixes and improvement to load both Administrator and System session)
and at PE start choose to login in the Administrator account
then try your process/steps again to see if results better...

The reason I'm trying to start the RDC/RDP server (termservice) is to
boot a PE in a remote machine... and start contring it from my PC with TS Cliente (mstsc.exe)

Thar would allow me to automate one level up my tech-admin processes...

You're welcome...
Please report if the thing works...
 :great:


Please add the "Administrador account



Re: RDC/RDP is the a way to activate the server in WinPE
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2017, 09:56:38 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7169
Hi Zee,

why not use 3rd party ?

\Downloads\AppYGS\Network\Remote Connect\

I use "VNC Real" - server - nicely for years ,
 And Ammy Admin and TeamViewer served me well during emergency,
  In one case, I even once used "Smart Phone" -> TeamViewer -> PE
« Last Edit: March 08, 2017, 10:29:13 PM by Lancelot »

Re: RDC/RDP is the a way to activate the server in WinPE
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2017, 12:49:45 AM »

noelBlanc

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 116
Hello ZEE
On the one hand there is the need efficiency in the work: a GUI as proposed by Lancelot, is a very good solution. Or an administration mode "command line" with "remote PowerShell", etc.
On the other side, there is the fun. As I do in MicroWinpeBuilder. where I mainly use the session administrator. I can say that, in the current state of knowledge shared in this forum, RDC/RDP entering winpe connections do not work, and regardless of the account. The Termservice service starts fine but refuse incoming connections. It does not listen on the TCP 3389 port as confirmed by "netstat - ano". And I assume that only the modification of binary code could work around this limitation.

Kind regards

Sorry for my bad english (bing.translator only)

Re: RDC/RDP is the a way to activate the server in WinPE
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2017, 11:49:38 AM »

ZEE

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Sep 2016
  • Posts: 5
Yep... I use VNC too (RealVNC, TightVNC, TigerVNC and UltraVNC... 32/64 bits)
and it works nicely in w WinPE...

but I would always like to have a alternative option...
and TS/RDC server/service is a nice one...

and is part of the main system
so should integrate nicely
if we crack the thing!

Re: RDC/RDP is the a way to activate the server in WinPE
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2017, 11:52:08 AM »

ZEE

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Sep 2016
  • Posts: 5
Thanks for your insight...

I hope thar someone who has the skills come with a patch
so we could use this inside WinPE...

Cumps  :thumbsup:

 

Powered by EzPortal