Topic: Main Configuration: Screen Resolution = max possible screen resolution?  (Read 1456 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

clsven

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Mar 2017
  • Posts: 21
When I go to "Main configuration" in WinBuilder then there is a drop-down "Screen Resolution".
Is this parameter to specify the max possible resolution?

I specified 1920x1080, then generated the Target, copied it onto an USB flash drive and booted the system on
a notebook with a max resolution of 1366x768.

The Win10PESE automatically resizes it to this (lower) resolution.
Is this auto-downsizing to native resolution intended and normal?

On the other hand when I go to Control Panel-->HardWare--->Display--->Change display settings
then I cannot click on it. Win10PE tells me:

"ms-settings:display
Class not registered"

Can I enable somehow display management for Win10PESE generation (so that adjusting resolution will be possible later during run)?

Claudia

slore

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 26
Quote
Can I enable somehow display management for Win10PESE generation (so that adjusting resolution will be possible later during run)?

even though Desktop->contextmenu->Display works for me, here are some options.

1.
Code: [Select]
PECMD.exe DISP W1024 H768
or
PECMD.exe DISP

2.
ila_rendered

Code: [Select]
WinXShell.exe -ui -jcfg UI_Resolution\main.jcfg
« Last Edit: March 12, 2017, 03:34:14 AM by slore »

clsven

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Mar 2017
  • Posts: 21
Hi slore,

thank you for your suggestion, but they do NOT work.

1.) I have NO context menu

Desktop/right click/Display

Do I have to enable it?

2.) PECMD.exe DISP

does not change anything

3.) In Control Panel/Hardware and Sound/Display

I miss on the left side an entry

adjust resolution

When I click on "change display settings" I get an error:

"ms-settingsdisplay
Class not registered"

See attached snapshot

4.) I added your WinXHell_x86 program to the ISO.  When I execute it after boot I get an application error (see attached snapshot 2)

So whats wrong?

As asked in my initial posting I would be interested in the meaning of the parameter "Screen resolution" in the section "Main configuration".

When I specify 1920x1080 does that mean:

- The max possible resolution (which might be lower if the natively offered resolution is lower
or
- The initial resolution after boot?

Thank you for comment.
Claudia

slore

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 26
Hi, Clsven
I was tested with the Win10PE SE from below(built with WINDOWS10.0.10240_x64.ISO with default settings.).
http://win10se.cwcodes.net/Compressed/

1.) I have NO context menu

Desktop/right click/Display and Control Panel/Display both works for me.   :confused:

2) PECMD.exe DISP
will set the max resolution.

add this commandline in startup script will make the max resolution for you, which one should be.

4.) I added your WinXHell_x86 program to the ISO.  When I execute it after boot I get an application error (see attached snapshot 2)
try run this in cmd.exe with commandline I was written.

WinXShell.exe is a zero dependency shell program(Desktop,Taskbar,TrayArea,Simple StartMenu) for all windows version above XP,
but the Insider Preview Win10 15002~150042 build will crash if running the program directly.
It has a config for avoid this error.

but with -ui option, it won't create the shell, and shouldn't be error, so I didn't show the config for you.
the WinXShell's Resolution Settings will list the vaild Resolution and the max Resolution in the first.
It could auto set the max Resolution if modifing the main.jcfg with some *script* for it,
because the PECMD.exe can do the CUI things, the WinXShell.exe just foucus on a beautiful simple GUI interface.
I saw the application error message :(
the WinXShell is developed in Chinese/Japanese Language OS(tested on Chinese/Japanese/English Language OS),
maybe there something wrong with othe Language OS.

after all, tell us your PE's build version or upload on some server, that we can try to find why it doesn't work.


slore
« Last Edit: March 16, 2017, 04:45:49 AM by slore »

slore

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 26
Hi, Clsven

Quote
4.) I added your WinXHell_x86 program to the ISO.  When I execute it after boot I get an application error (see attached snapshot 2)

So whats wrong?

I try this in an English Language OS, it crashed, that realized me the UI_Resolution\main.jcfg has some description in Chinese.
remove them with notepad.exe to be like below.then it will work in PE.

★the comma ends in "baricon":"settings.ico" also is Chinese char,replace it with an English comma too, or just copy this:

main.jcfg
Code: [Select]
{
  "name":"UI_Resolution",
  "noshadow":false,
  "baricon":"settings.ico",
  "OnLoad":"
= #resolution_combo, ::GetResolutionList();
= #resolution_combo, ::GetCurrentResolution();
  ",
  "OnClick":{
  "applybtn":"
PUSH #resolution_combo;
PUSH 1;
CALL ::SetResolution();
  ",
  "cancelbtn":"
  CALL ::Close();
  "
  }
}

also, you can run WinXShell.exe -ui UI_Shutdown\main.jcfg(this one is just simple English json code.) and click restart, it work fine.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2017, 06:01:55 AM by slore »

clsven

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Mar 2017
  • Posts: 21
Hi slore,

I changed the main.jcfg according to your code.
Then added it through utils/"PC Packed" and re-generated the ISO.

When I run it later NOTHING happens - absolutely nothing.
See attached snapshot

Everything else works.

So there must be another bug.

Any other idea?

Claudia

slore

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 26
Hi, Clsven

Quote
So there must be another bug.
try the release one in.
http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=2090.0

with this mistake, I already test it in Windows10_InsiderPreview_Client_x64_en-us_15063.iso
I want to know what the max resolution in the list.(if it is 1366x768, so maybe the PE need video driver for bigger resolution.)

there maybe three reason, I think.

1). your screen is in ongitudinal direction.
2). your PE is not functional(I tried clean boot.wim and Win10PESE, both work fine.).
3). your video card is special, need video driver installed.

if reason is 1), try to swtich the width and height paramters for DISP command.
PECMD.exe DISP W768 H1024
if this will change your resolution.

Can you just startup with boot.wim, and SHIFT+F10 open a cmd.exe,
and try to run "pecmd.exe disp", tell us if it works.
if works the reason is 2), if not, the reason is 3).

slore
« Last Edit: April 08, 2017, 05:42:45 PM by slore »

clsven

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Mar 2017
  • Posts: 21
This version works now. Thank you.

One minor error remains:

Just for evaluation purposes I switched resolution from 1920x1080 to 1280x720.
After switch back half of my previous desktop icons vanished.
I think there is a "refresh" desktop icons operation missing.

Claudia

 

Powered by EzPortal