Topic: Getwaiktools plugin question  (Read 886 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Getwaiktools plugin question
« on: May 03, 2017, 08:40:54 AM »

whiggs

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 31
Hello the Oven community.  I had a question in regards to the GetWaiktools script which downloads the necessary deployment tools which are normally included in the adk installation for use in the building and configuring of Windows 10 PESE.  More specifically, as you may or may not know, microsoft has released a new version of the Windows 10 adk for each new major update of windows 10 that has been released, including new versions of the tools included within.  So my question is how does the script know which version of the ADK tools to download and use when the script is run.  Does it scan the source media and use that to download the right version?  Does it not check at all and download only a specific version that is specifically specified in the script?  If the answer to this question is the latter of the two scenarios, then it would probably be a good idea to update the script so that it downloads the version of the ADK tools that match the version of Windows 10 that is being used as the source.  But this is a question to which I would like to get an answer to.  Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2017, 02:23:51 AM by Lancelot »

Re: Getwaiktools plugin question
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2017, 02:39:41 AM »

JFX

  • Moderator, Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 876
The project decides which ADK tools are used.
For the tools the minor version does not matter.
So you can use any of the 10.x versions for all Windows 10 sources. Nothing has really changed, except the version numbers.

It's a different story about WinPE feature packages that are in the ADK.
Here the version is important. But we don't use them.

« Last Edit: August 04, 2017, 02:24:00 AM by Lancelot »

Re: Getwaiktools plugin question
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2017, 01:12:26 PM »

whiggs

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 31
So you are saying that you can use any version of the adk tools with any version of Windows 10?  I don't know if I agree with that.  I remember around the time that the Redstone version of Windows 10 came out, I had forgotten to upgrade my version of the adk to the version released for the redstone edition and had created a custom capture of the redstone edition using the adk from the previous version.  I remember this because I remember getting super frustrated because I couldn't figure out why a) my disk resources were almost always polling at 100%, so it was really slow, b) sfc and dism would always fail to complete successfully until dism was run using an install.wim pulled from install media as the source, and then running sfc would find and repair corruption, and c) there was a very bad latency issue when attempting to play any kind of media on the computer: movies, songs, even spotify would start making this "skipping" sound, like you hear when your media player crashed or when you play music from a scratched CD (are cds still even a thing at this point, lol jk).  It was only when I was just about to install the previous version of Windows 10 because I was so tired of all the issues that I realized I had been using the wrong version of the adk.  Once I re-created the custom image of Windows 10 with the correct version of the adk, all the problems magically went away....
« Last Edit: August 04, 2017, 02:24:10 AM by Lancelot »

Re: Getwaiktools plugin question
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2017, 01:19:00 AM »

JFX

  • Moderator, Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 876
So you are saying that you can use any version of the adk tools with any version of Windows 10?
Yes, they hardly do much more than just change version info and recompile the tools.
And if they change something they lately often break it.

Your problem should have another reason.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2017, 02:24:20 AM by Lancelot »

Re: Getwaiktools plugin question
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2017, 07:58:08 PM »

whiggs

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 31
Agree to disagree then. 
« Last Edit: August 04, 2017, 02:24:28 AM by Lancelot »

Re: Getwaiktools plugin question
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2017, 10:13:04 AM »

whiggs

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 31
JFX.  So while not specifically stated that using a particular version of the adk to modify a different version of Windows 10 will break the installation, Microsoft did state this, which seems to support what I have been saying:
« Last Edit: August 04, 2017, 02:24:39 AM by Lancelot »

Re: Getwaiktools plugin question
« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2017, 04:01:27 AM »

whiggs

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 31
JFX.  One more thing which, not only proves what I have been saying about needing to use the correct version of the deployment tools from the correct version of the adk (as I did verify that your script "GetWaikTools" downloads the deployment tools from the adk for Windows 10 redstone 1), but could also be part of the reason as to why the Win10PESE fails to create a bootable media using the creators update source files (I say part of the reason because I modified WinpeSE scripts to account for the changes and switched out the deployment tool files with the correct version of the same files pulled from the correct version of the adk and it still failed) is because of the fact that, in the ADK version 1703, the file which WinpeSE uses, called "WimMountInstall.exe", does not exist, and has instead been replaced with a file named "wimmountadksetupamd64.exe" and "wimmountadksetupx86.exe".  I have to say I am disappointed.  Instead of doing proper research yourself into the the importance of using the correct version of the adk on the associated version of Windows like a real professional, you were all too eager to say that my process, reasoning, and operating system image were flawed.  As a professional, I don't so much as open my mouth without verifying the facts first.  A lesson you hopefully take away from this. :mad:
« Last Edit: August 04, 2017, 04:05:33 AM by whiggs »

Re: Getwaiktools plugin question
« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2017, 04:51:33 AM »

JFX

  • Moderator, Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 876
My my! What a hardhead you are.

You have not done anything to prove that your problem comes from the older deployment tools.
Also you talking about things you do not understand.

Of course MS tell us we must use the right version.
The ADK tools we talking about have a download size of ~ 8MB,
well let's say that's not the complete ADK MS has mentioned.

The name of of the WimMount*.exe is the one I have choose,
let's say it has a reason.

For Win10PESE, every new version needs a few adjustments.
It's just that the 1 project developer/maintainer has vanished since February.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2017, 06:55:42 AM by JFX »

 

Powered by EzPortal