Topic: Critical Process Died  (Read 345 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Critical Process Died
« on: May 20, 2017, 09:34:44 PM »

VeeDub

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 60
Hello,

So when I test my first build in VirtualBox I get Critical Process Died

I'd appreciate any suggestions about how to troubleshoot this error.

One question that I have is that I'm not sure if I'm using the correct ISO (which I have extracted) for the build.

The release page recommends using https://www.heidoc.net/joomla/technology-science/microsoft/67-microsoft-windows-iso-download-tool which I have done. But when it runs it's not entirely clear (or at least it wasn't for me) which ISO I should download.

So what I have used is:
Windows 10 - Redstone 2 - March 2017
Home / Pro
64 bit

If I have stuffed up here, where should I have looked, because I did spend sometime trying to find instruction on which version I should be downloading.

Cheers
VW


Re: Critical Process Died
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2017, 10:49:50 PM »

VeeDub

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 60
OK it looks like the build might be the problem

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_10_version_history#PC_version_history

I've seen a post which says that 14393 is supported - and 14393 = Redstone1

Re: Critical Process Died
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2017, 07:27:09 AM »

mbb

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: May 2017
  • Posts: 1
I attempted a very basic build using the new Creator's Edition (10.0.15063) on DVD and the latest tools from the matching  Microsoft Automated Deployment Kit.  WinBuilder processed everything flawlessly, however the result on boot from flash drive was BSOD with "Critical Process Died."  Using the same configuration model, scripts, Win10 RTM with matching ADK tools missing from the default Tools folder, resulted in a perfectly usable WinPE10 SE. Can anyone suggest an approach for detecting what is missing in configuring Creator's Edition that would result in Critical Process Died error?  Thanks.

Re: Critical Process Died
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2017, 12:46:23 PM »

VeeDub

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 60
@mbb

I can't answer your question, but I can tell you that reverting to 14393 resolved my error

VW

 

Powered by EzPortal