Topic: WinNTSetup  (Read 28152 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #100 on: October 12, 2017, 03:33:29 PM »

bob.omb

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: USA
  • Date Registered: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 113
How are you getting the available editions to populate your dropdown after selecting the ISO? I can hardcode "Windows 10 Pro" and other valid names to the wimindex drop section of the wrapper (Basic MBR Install mode) in the dropdown, but if someone downloads an ISO that doesn't have that edition it will error out I'm pretty sure, and very sure it wont work even if it doesn't produce an error.  Is it easy to explain where it can be read from?

*** EDIT

Nevermind I found it here: https://winaero.com/blog/how-to-see-which-build-and-edition-of-windows-10-the-iso-file-contains/

But what are you doing do mount the iso? DISM would take a long time, is there a simpler way you use? I appreciate any guidance and will try to keep the questions to a minimum and simple.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2017, 03:53:23 PM by bob.omb »

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #101 on: October 12, 2017, 05:26:29 PM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 784
Hey c'mon, I know I'm not JFX, but don't completely ignore me :-)
The mighty Imdisk can be used to mount your iso (see my previous post):
a=add, m=mount point (letter), f=file
imdisk -a -m h: -f d:\q64.iso

I also promised you a command line example:

%WinNTSetupArchitecture%.exe nt6
 -source:%selectsource%
 -syspart:c:
 -unattend:"autounattend_w8.xml"
 -savedriveletters
 -sysletter:c
 -reboot
 -disableuac
 -wimindex:3 -DisableHiberBoot
 -win8noanimation
 -DisableSystemRestore
 -DisableSFC
 -DisableHibernate
 -drivers:L:
 -runafter:"CopySetupScriptsW81.exe"
 -regtweaks:"regtweaks-w10"
 -ref=*.esd

Most of these are pretty self-explanatory. I guess. L: is another mounted iso that contains extra drivers (this iso is mounted by my "wrapper", loaded depending on which PC it is currently running on), "Runafter" is great for a KMS emulator or other OEM folder (also depending on OS and/or PC), -ref is great for direct apply of UUP (using MKuba's great new tool), etc. etc., the possibilities are endless!
Again, I'm no JFX, just wanted to show some of WinNTSetup's power!!!

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #102 on: October 12, 2017, 10:20:13 PM »

bob.omb

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: USA
  • Date Registered: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 113
I missed that! Didn't see  :grin:

Thank you! Will update soon

just wanted to show some of WinNTSetup's power!!!

I know it is pretty sweet!
« Last Edit: October 15, 2017, 12:00:27 PM by bob.omb »

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #103 on: October 13, 2017, 05:18:29 AM »

freesoft00

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 13
If I make something to do this, is "-wimindex:1" where it gets edition? index:2home, index:3pro etc?

Can command line WinNTSetup use iso or does it have to be mounted first?

Yes, can use an ISO with the command line and wimindex is usually a 1-based index.
But you can also pass it's name:

Code: [Select]
WinNTSetup_x64.exe NT6 -source:J:\16299.15.170928-1534.RS3_RELEASE_CLIENTCONSUMER_OEMRET_X64FRE_DE-DE.ISO -wimindex:"Windows 10 Pro"

WinNtsetup3.8.8
Installs the Win7 64-bit system in the WIN10 X64 PE environment. Winntsetup prompts for memory errors during installation and exits.
The win7 system ISO file is WIN10, and the system WIM file is converted to ESD format.
Same environment, same system file, WinNtsetup3.8.7 normal.


Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #104 on: October 13, 2017, 05:34:38 AM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 891
I need more information on how to reproduce this.

Does it only happens with ESD files?
Is there a difference wimgapi or wimlib?

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #105 on: October 20, 2017, 03:55:09 AM »

freesoft00

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 13
Does the Offreg.dll and WOFADK.SYS replace to the latest version to see if the winntsetup is working correctly?

Re: WinNTSetup
« Reply #106 on: October 20, 2017, 04:10:20 AM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 891
No, you should not update these files. :ph34r:

The offreg.dll v.6.3,9600,17029 is the last one working under WinXP.
Wofadk.sys v.10.0,14393,0 is the last working one that exists currently. Newer ones causes BSoD.

 

Powered by EzPortal