Topic: Run the Built in Memory Diagnostic of Windows 7 from Win7PE SE (or any 7+ PE)?  (Read 206 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

gbrao

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 197
It's possible to run the Built in Memory Diagnostic from the menu of bootmgr on Win 7.

Would it be possible to include this in a PE ( as a option from a boot menu, similar to Win7 )?

Since I always have a PE on my UFD, this would be convenient. I know I can run memtest+ or similar. Just asking.

I have a ISO with just these files in folder 'boot' and it permits me to run the mem diag:
Code: [Select]
2-Apr-2011  02:00 PM           262,144 bcd
12-Apr-2011  02:00 PM         3,170,304 boot.sdi
12-Apr-2011  02:00 PM             1,024 bootfix.bin
12-Apr-2011  02:00 PM           112,640 bootsect.exe
12-Apr-2011  02:00 PM    <DIR>          en-us
12-Apr-2011  02:00 PM             4,096 etfsboot.com
12-Apr-2011  02:00 PM    <DIR>          fonts
12-Apr-2011  02:00 PM           611,200 memtest.efi
12-Apr-2011  02:00 PM           485,760 memtest.exe
               7 File(s)      4,648,308 bytes

Other folders are empty.

Root has :
Code: [Select]
2-Apr-2011  02:00 PM               122 autorun.inf
12-Apr-2011  02:00 PM    <DIR>          boot
12-Apr-2011  02:00 PM           383,786 bootmgr
12-Apr-2011  02:00 PM           669,568 bootmgr.efi
12-Apr-2011  02:00 PM    <DIR>          efi
12-Apr-2011  02:00 PM           106,768 setup.exe
12-Apr-2011  02:00 PM    <DIR>          sources
12-Apr-2011  02:00 PM    <DIR>          support
12-Apr-2011  02:00 PM    <DIR>          upgrade



gbrao

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 197
Just increase the countdown timer in bcd and you get option for the mem diagnostic (use TAB). I used EasyBCD to set a 3 sec countdown.

bob.omb

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: USA
  • Date Registered: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 271
When you see the screen that says "Press any key to boot from USB. . ." press the enter key twice, this will open the windows boot manager... from there you can run the built in memory diagnostic by pressing the 'tab' key to highlight the Memory Diagnostic tool then press enter...
« Last Edit: January 15, 2018, 08:53:50 PM by bob.omb »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7758
Following topic Just add

InfoMemTest_Button

to Create ISO plugin

*
gbrao,

you can increase time out at Create ISO plugin.

*
bob.omb

I miss many things on topics with wasted time on PEBakery,
I will catch up slowly :turtle:, very busy time of the year ...
remind them time to time  :wink:

ps:
when giving instructions on other topics, use MyPlugins_Direct ex:
%BaseDir%\Projects\MyPlugins_Direct\Shell\
Project folders deleted during updates even with zip distributions   :whistling:

:turtle:

 

Powered by EzPortal