Topic: 1-Pins question  (Read 536 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

1-Pins question
« on: January 25, 2018, 02:42:42 AM »

topgundcp

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Location: San Jose, California
  • Date Registered: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 67
@Lancelot
Using 1-Pins plugin, I added 6 Items to Start Menu and 4 Items to Taskbar, total = 10 and that's the limit I can do with 1-Pins.
I tried to pin some more items to the taskbar using Add_pin starting order: 5, I can see it lists in WIN10.cfg but it does not work.

Is this the max I can only pin 10 items for both Start Menu and Taskbar ???

Please advise.

Re: 1-Pins question
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2018, 07:24:17 AM »

James

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Dec 2017
  • Posts: 8
YES, 10 Pinned Items

Re: 1-Pins question
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2018, 07:25:37 AM »

James

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Dec 2017
  • Posts: 8
do to plugin design

Re: 1-Pins question
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2018, 04:02:08 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7781
See
http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=37.0

+
Story behind limitation is ms did not like exaggerated use of quicklaunch by applications setup.
(ios/android(launcher) also limits to 4 - 5 and 1 shortcut per application. )

so they add StartMenu pin option which already exists on XP StartMenu and naturally limited (due to size of Start Menu) to NT6x taskbar

ps:
One can still enable quick launch for SE/Gena to overcome limitations.

ps:
One can also use 3rd party quick launch applications to overcome limitations.

*
If limit can be increased to 12 or whatever, also check RecentPrograms...au3 inside Macro Library plugin

:turtle:

Re: 1-Pins question
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2018, 04:46:05 AM »

topgundcp

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Location: San Jose, California
  • Date Registered: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 67
Thank you @Lancelot.
As stated in the first post, I had 6 items pinned to Start Menu, 4 items to Taskbar, I can use Add_pin to add 6 more items to taskbar, I made a mistake not putting #$s for spaces so it did not work. So at least I can add 6 more items to the taskbar.

However, my final solution is to make a copy of your 1-pin and called it 2-pin. In 1-pin, I can add 10 items to pin to Start Menu with recent item disabled, In 2-pin I can add another 10 items for the taskbar so in total, I can get 20 items for both Start Menu and Taskbar. So at least I get a pretty clean desktop. For additional Items, I can add them to the right click context menu if needed and still have a clean desktop.
Here's a screen shot:
« Last Edit: January 26, 2018, 05:37:27 AM by topgundcp »

Re: 1-Pins question
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2018, 05:07:25 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7781
It is very clear now.  :thumbsup:

*
You can also do following:

Utils\PC Packed -> e button
+
You will get
AppsMy\2Prepare\New Plugin
+
Edit plugin and change
[Main]
Title=Pins topgundcp
+
Using Explorer.exe , rename and copy this plugin to
MyPlugins_Direct\AppsMy\Pins topgundcp.script
+
refresh builder
You will get
AppsMy\Pins topgundcp
+
Edit Pins topgundcp
under [Process] add lines Add_Recent......
the way you like.
(total will be only 18 lines)
+
Disable 1 - Pins etc.



Tip:
1-Pins plugin only helps to add pins from Gui by using Add_Recent
The reason Add_Recent to Macro Library plugin is
  to give freedom to end user with a personal plugin (ex: Pins topgundcp )
   and
  add option to some apps plugins. (ex: Mozilla Firefox CR)



*
If you create "Pins topgundcp" plugin, share around.
It will give a better idea to others.

:turtle:

Re: 1-Pins question
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2018, 05:48:32 AM »

topgundcp

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Location: San Jose, California
  • Date Registered: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 67
@Lancelot,
I went back and recofigure Start10 to show 10 items on start menu + 10 items on taskbar. I updated the post & screen shot above.
No, I don't want to use Add_Recent because it will overwrite what I want on Start Menu when I run a new program so I did not create any extra plugin except just copy your 1-pin and rename it to 2-pin. All credit belong to you for your hard work.
Thanks  :thumbsup:
« Last Edit: January 26, 2018, 05:54:03 AM by topgundcp »

Re: 1-Pins question
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2018, 06:14:08 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7781
All Credits to others
http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=37.0
I only helped on implementing to projects so such feature available with passing time (instead of a topic on google)

+

No, I don't want to use Add_Recent because it will overwrite what I want on Start Menu when I run a new program so I did not create any extra plugin
I believe you miss, 1-pin also use Add_Recent ......

Anyway,
I advice you to rename and copy your personal plugins
1-Pin_topgundcp.script
2-Pin_topgundcp.script
with
Title=1 - Pins topgundcp
Title=2 - Pins topgundcp
to
\Projects\MyPlugins_Direct\Final_My\
folder

Also If you can attach both side by side with your picture, it will be good example to others.

:turtle:

 

Powered by EzPortal