Topic: WimBuilderUI - create a builder UI with only text file, no need to compile  (Read 527 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

slore

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 69
I have a idea: create a UI stuff to configure some settings for builder, and call a batch file to create a pe wim file.

there are lots selection to create a UI, but I thought if the UI create with base JS,VBS,HTML skills,
more people can contribute to the builder, not just send request and waiting others to do that.

here is a simple demo for verificating some capability of building a wim PE file.

  • access the file system to list the project folder(s)/file(s).
  • load "plugin/patch" config files.
  • call dism.ex,7z.exe,xcopy.exe,reg.exe,etc to modify the files and registry.

ila_rendered

HTML+jquery+vbs/js+css=>HTA (all of them are text file, so the builder UI just in 41.0 KB)

* WimBuilder_UI_Demo.zip (41.07 kB - downloaded 23 times.)

Here, I want to get some advises or some Cannot be solved/endured defect, to appraise how far should I do with the work.



Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7781
Hi slore,

instead of another such design (long story to short)

why not simply add gui to cmd file

giving example following pebakery gui

Test.cmdslore
Code: [Select]
cd "%~dp0"
Call :Interface_Read
Echo %pCheckBox5%
cmd
exit

[Interface]
pCheckBox5=pCheckBox5,1,3,173,184,200,18,True

[Interface_Read]
:Interface_Read
Set pCheckBox5=True
goto:eof

-->
this way when
slore.hta(.exe or whatever) used to open Test.cmdslore
one will see gui to enable disable checkbox
using such checkbox will rewrite [Interface_Read] section so when cmd file all will work following rest with cmd.exe (where one can start vbs dism etc.)

*
A developer mostly requires a good editor to add remove interface elements to batch files.

*
%99 new developers needs to add a simple gui to batch files, to create wim or any other thing....
ex: wimbuilder  :wink:


Just an idea.... :turtle:

slore

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 69
Hi, Lancelot

Sorry, I don't understand your image.
Do you mean you want make different plugins selection when the GUI loaded?

just put a config file, when the GUI open, with loading the settings.
Projects\WIN10PE\
    build1.config(JSON format, key=value format ini-like also OK.)
         {
             "pCheckBox5" : false
             "plugins":{
                  "CheckBoxB" : true,
             }
         }

GUI can save as ... the plugins selection to file.
one project can have many build playbooks.

GUI -> batchfile
and, the selection value,can be set to the environment variable table,
and cmd.exe will got the value.
or write to temp/build_87281.config, the batch file load the file to build.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2018, 05:01:56 AM by slore »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7781
Hi slore,

sorry very busy part of year (life)

+
well you naturally figure out why we use builders to create projects instead of .cmd or .ps
with your words: "UI stuff to configure some settings"

But you follow current builders design, where both miss "simple batch file with UI stuff to configure some settings"
Let's forget now about wimbuilder and other projects and plugins etc., and follow evolution steps with a better way where it should be.


*
Question is simple:
Following previous .cmd example
when we double click Test.cmdslore which will open by slore.hta etc. (assume association made or by open file button)
can we have something like this:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/j5mjlv6li51c3pu/2018-01-26_144801.png?dl=0

+
NotePad2 -> slore.hta
cmd window inside slore.hta (not essential, only to give idea)
Test.cmdslore gui opens as default --> like notepad opens a text file  :wink:

==>
If we can have such thing
Than as a begining, many people may easily create their own .cmdslore following adk install
 and other personal things.  :wink:

--> all requirement is a "open file" and "editor" button

Reminder:
 There is already .cmd and .ps PE projects on net which developers lacks UI stuff to configure some settings with a nice editor.
  They use batch selection things for projects, which is not good on long-term maintenance.

I hope I could explain.

Sorry I will not be able to post more about this stuff, very very busy at current part of my life.....

:turtle:

slore

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Jun 2016
  • Posts: 69
Hi, Lancelot

Quote
I hope I could explain.

Sorry I will not be able to post more about this stuff, very very busy at current part of my life.....

OK. take your time.  :thumbsup:

I got it.

assoc with custom extension for this.
this is not  hard part, can adding a simple laucher.vbs(/install /uninstall /otheroption) for the feature.

thanks for the idea.

my baby  is going to be born, next will be my very busy part of my life,
before that I have little time to make the demo, and I post it for collectiing advises,
I will far from computer some months, so the coding thing will be hard, but my mind can take time to think about the design....
so this thread been posted.

RoyM

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Aug 2017
  • Posts: 13
Hey Guys.
Fantastic topic.
@ Slore, 'Congrats on the youngin'.
I will be following this topic.
Regards.
RoyM

Re: WimBuilderUI - create a builder UI with only text file, no need to compile
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2018, 06:07:31 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7781
my baby  is going to be born, next will be my very busy part of my life,
Congradulations.  :party_time:

I wish my best to your family.  :great:

:turtle:

 

Powered by EzPortal