Topic: Get WAIK Tools w/o loading the huge ISO's  (Read 185421 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Re: Get WAIK Tools w/o loading the hugh ISO's
« Reply #140 on: August 01, 2016, 08:32:58 PM »

Nemo

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 14
Thx, Atari800XL.

Are there advanced informations of the actual ADK, as MSDN on this page only reports on v1511?

Regards, Nemo
« Last Edit: August 01, 2016, 08:34:15 PM by Nemo »

Re: Get WAIK Tools w/o loading the hugh ISO's
« Reply #141 on: August 01, 2016, 09:48:27 PM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 754
I have no info yet, I guess it's just too new (just a couple of hours).

I'm sure there will be more info today or tomorrow (10:00 AM Redmond time, 19:00 local time for me), the official RS1 release time.

And of course, the REAL info will come from JFX, he will tell us if there are any useful new additions, or any sorely missed removed components.

I just use it for the standard PE files, and the bootfiles. For the bootfiles, I have to download the huge iso once (or as JFX calls it in the thread title: "hugh", when will you change that, JFX?)

For my own little PE experiments, I'm saving these bootfiles (they also work with all the older PE's, not the other way around though, so "downward compatibility" only). For future (remote) use, I'm also saving the direct links to the bare bones PE files (I'm including the curl.exe command, so they get the correct filenames):
curl.exe -o"winpe10x64.cab" http://download.microsoft.com/download/9/A/E/9AE69DD5-BA93-44E0-864E-180F5E700AB4/adk/Installers/6d3c63e785ac9ac618ae3f1416062098.cab
curl.exe -o"winpe10x86.cab"  http://download.microsoft.com/download/9/A/E/9AE69DD5-BA93-44E0-864E-180F5E700AB4/adk/Installers/690b8ac88bc08254d351654d56805aea.cab

You can just extract these cab files with 7zip and rename them to "WinPEx64.wim" and "WinPEx86.wim".
It's just like a little "GetWAIK-PE"...  :lol:


« Last Edit: August 01, 2016, 09:49:12 PM by Atari800xl »

Re: Get WAIK Tools w/o loading the hugh ISO's
« Reply #142 on: August 01, 2016, 10:53:29 PM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 808
Any change it can be updated to get the latest DevCon too from the Win10 WDK? (Is there a new one for RS1?)
Last time i checked WDK, they moved devcon in a much bigger cab file.
So the download would increase from ~50 KB to 15 MB.
I don't' think that worth to download as they only change the version number and recompile it.


@Atari800xl
Thanks for the link. Just change the topic title  :thumbsup:
Funny nobody noticed that in over 4 years.

EDIT: Oh they move also wofadk.sys download location, now have to download the whole thing  :huh:
EDI2: Done ! GWT 16.08 online  :smile:
« Last Edit: August 02, 2016, 12:39:07 AM by JFX »

Re: Get WAIK Tools w/o loading the huge ISO's
« Reply #143 on: August 02, 2016, 10:26:46 AM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 754
Ah! Almost missed it (because you edited your post, instead of announcing 16.08 in a new message).

Oh well, here's a new post anyways  :tongue:
Thanks for the new version, a perfect conclusion to this day FULL of new stuff (Anniversary esd and iso files up the wazoo, new ADK, old ADK preview expiring [totally forgot about that], etc. etc.)

Nice version numbering, as well!

Re: Get WAIK Tools w/o loading the huge ISO's
« Reply #144 on: August 02, 2016, 09:49:25 PM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 754
Sorry for asking, JFX (ChrisR and the others are on holiday, I think), but has something changed in mounting the source over the last few days? (In that case, it might be related to GetWAIKTools, so I thought I'd mention it here).
I thought I was about done with collecting all new stuff, but when I did a new build just now (fully standard, with new MSDN x64 iso source), mounting the iso failed. If you have any ideas, I would appreciate it. If not: no problem.
(Extracting the wim worked, but I want to be able to use "normal" mounting as well, and the build I did a few days ago with a converted esd worked fine!) Maybe you (or anyone lese) can try a quick standard build with a new iso as source? Thanks!

Re: Get WAIK Tools w/o loading the huge ISO's
« Reply #145 on: August 02, 2016, 10:38:32 PM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 808
Actually nothing changed about mounting. Haven't tried the new iso yet, just started downloading them.

What happens if you try mounting manually with imagex.exe?

There is a common error 2 - that often is caused by registry setting of the WIMMount driver

Does "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\WIMMount, ImagePath" point to an existing location of WimMount.sys?
« Last Edit: August 02, 2016, 10:38:54 PM by JFX »

Re: Get WAIK Tools w/o loading the huge ISO's
« Reply #146 on: August 02, 2016, 11:23:34 PM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 754
Once again: sorry to pollute the thread, but at least it's somewhat related...
JFX, you saved my behind once more :handshake: : you were 100% correct! That imagepath was pointing "nowhere" in some ADK folder. That is: I did install the ADK (the new one I talked about yesterday), but the final folder in the path was not available. So I guess ADK is to blame (didn't need it anymore anyway, just wanted to grab the PE bootfiles).
This is my test laptop anyway, with clean installs all the time (lots of new stuff to test these days), so I did a quick clean install (WinNTSetup, of course), and the problems are gone. Sorry for being stupid, but I never had this error before! I will document it in my notes and remember it for future reference! (As I said: this must have been a rare combination of using the full ADK and -not- using extracted wims)
I might have done a refresh on it anyway, at least now I know exactly what the problem was! Thanks!!
 :thumbsup: :good_job:
« Last Edit: August 02, 2016, 11:25:11 PM by Atari800xl »

Re: Get WAIK Tools w/o loading the huge ISO's
« Reply #147 on: August 03, 2016, 06:00:13 AM »

devcon

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Aug 2016
  • Posts: 2
So no update for Win10 RS1 DevCon?

Re: Get WAIK Tools w/o loading the huge ISO's
« Reply #148 on: August 03, 2016, 06:19:58 AM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 808
No the download is to big

x86.cab fil5a9177f816435063f779ebbbd2c1a1d2 = devcon.exe

x64.cab filbad6e2cce5ebc45a401e19c613d0a28f = devcon.exe

Re: Get WAIK Tools w/o loading the huge ISO's
« Reply #149 on: August 20, 2016, 11:18:56 PM »

ChrisR

  • Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2786
Hi and thanks a lot JFX for GetWaikTools (GWT) 16.8.0, to get also latest Win10 ADK build 14393 and others :thumbsup:
GetWaikTools plugin is on server now

Re: Get WAIK Tools w/o loading the huge ISO's
« Reply #150 on: October 08, 2016, 08:02:12 PM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 754
JFX, seems there's a new ADK preview out (14931):

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windowsinsiderpreviewADK

Looks like things have changed with downloading the iso, maybe also the direct links to the files (like adksetup.exe and the separate files/ installers/ etc)  are gone? Would you like to take a look and tell us what you think?

Re: Get WAIK Tools w/o loading the huge ISO's
« Reply #151 on: October 09, 2016, 11:51:25 PM »

ChrisR

  • Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2786
I guess it's like that with the redirection to cab and msi files only because it is an Insider preview.
It is as if the option: "download windows ADK - Windows 10 for installation on a separate computer" was already done.
The principle does not seem to have changed, it is probably only for practical reasons and not to overload their servers.

For info, the download root in adksetup 14931 is: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=722346
It is redirected to ADK 14393 URL: http://download.microsoft.com/download/9/A/E/9AE69DD5-BA93-44E0-864E-180F5E700AB4/adk
with Hash mismatch then.





Re: Get WAIK Tools w/o loading the huge ISO's
« Reply #152 on: October 10, 2016, 07:01:27 AM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 808
Yes, let's wait for final RS2 version.

The bcdedit.exe bug is still there, maybe I should patch it, if MS doesn't care  :w00t:

Re: Get WAIK Tools w/o loading the huge ISO's
« Reply #153 on: January 13, 2017, 04:00:04 AM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 808
Update to Version 17.01

- added "xppowercalc" option to download PowerCalc from Xp PowerToys

 

Powered by EzPortal