Topic: Error with Windows Recovery  (Read 8215 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Error with Windows Recovery
« on: January 05, 2013, 03:30:59 PM »

Bass

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 5
Hello,

I'm new in thttp://theoven.org/Themes/BlueStarTheme/images/bbc/img.gifhis forum.

I need some advice, i've build a PE using Win8PESE project but got this error when trying to start the Recovery Environment
ila_rendered

and i get this error from Startup Repair
ila_rendered

Besides that i have 2 question:
1. Why network support takes longer to start than WinPE from ADK?
2. Will you give support for MS Dart 8 in your project?

Thanks in advance.

I really like your project, and keep the good work.


Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2013, 07:50:50 AM »

JonF

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 286
I'll certainly look at DART 8 as time permits. But that may take a while.

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2013, 11:10:41 AM »

Bass

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 5
Thanks, i'm glad to hear that, i was adding it manually but a script would be much better.

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2013, 04:09:05 AM »

ChrisR

  • Moderator, Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2898
I'll certainly look at DART 8 as time permits. But that may take a while.
Good to hear also  :thumbsup:

@Bass
About Recovery Environment, JFX sent me some required files that I added to Copy Files script, on server.
I have not had time to really test but it seems better.

:cheers:
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 04:09:23 AM by ChrisR »

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2013, 10:06:48 AM »

Bass

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 5
@ChrisR

I have tested with the new Copy Files script and i'm not getting errors. Thanks both for your quick response.

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2013, 06:26:44 AM »

JonF

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 286
I'll certainly look at DART 8 as time permits. But that may take a while.
Good to hear also  :thumbsup:
DART 8 in Win8PE_SE looks to be very difficult, and I don't know if it will ever work. The structure of a DART 8 boot CD has changed completely. For example there are only two executable files that are not found in a Win8PE_SE build: Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\ink\TabTip.exe and Windows\System32\WallpaperHost.exe.  Just for fun I'll attach the comparison. The DART8 build included several languages.

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2013, 04:37:18 PM »

halikus

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 28
I have a Dart script for 8 and 7 if you want it.  I think the problem is is id have to include the extracted dart files to avoid confusion (is that ok?) as i did some manual copying.  What i had to do was make a dart, and then extract the unique file it created (ca5ee39a-442c-451a-bb17-940f0642eblah) and DartConfig.dat along with the files from the extracted dart cabs.

Heres just the script if it helps.  This is for Win8 only, x86 or x64, depending on the files you provide.

Edit: Lancelot -> message box reach limits hence further was broken code, see reply 8

Edit2: Lancelot -> attached Dart70 and Dart80 plugins provied by halikus after reply 8 -> pm

http://www.sendspace.com/file/38qukc
« Last Edit: February 09, 2013, 10:34:25 PM by Lancelot »

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2013, 04:39:13 PM »

halikus

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 28
sorry, the codebox was erased at the bottom of the post.  I can't find the darned edit button, so if a mod could fix it that would be appreciated.

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2013, 09:19:10 PM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7261
sorry, the codebox was erased at the bottom of the post.  I can't find the darned edit button, so if a mod could fix it that would be appreciated.

Hi halikus,

Yes, also same happened when I tried,
Looking more, I guess you reached the limits of post  :wink:
not only codebox erased, but also the code is not full (have missing lines...)

Send me a pm with the plugin above (mediafire etc.) so I can "attach" your above post  :thumbsup:

btw, after total 10 posts, you can edit   :great:

Edit:
2 plugins attached to reply 8 after pm
« Last Edit: February 09, 2013, 10:34:56 PM by Lancelot »

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2013, 05:07:04 AM »

JonF

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 286
Aha! The good stuff is in the 2 part of the WIM, not the 1.

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2013, 05:02:12 AM »

JonF

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 286
I'm working on a distributable DaRT 8 script. It is very different from previous DaRT versions, so I think it's going to have to be in its own script rather than folding it into the older script.

I'm not having success with the replacement for System Sweeper, but I don't think that's a big deal. There are equal or better anti-malware solutions available.

The unique funny-named file that halikus extracted is not necessary. DartConfig.dat is in the ISO. SO no files need be extracted from a  running DaRT.

Right now the hangup is the automatic extraction of files from boot.wim. The 32 bit extraction works fine, but the 64 bit extraction doesn't happen. 7-ZIP and other programs such as UltraISO can extract boot.wim from the ISO. But no program I have around here can open it. I can mount it with ImageX, but I'd prefer not to. Any suggestions?

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2013, 04:05:51 AM »

Aeolis

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Date Registered: Oct 2012
  • Posts: 134
Dear JonF,

As far as I know 7-Zip version 9.30 (alpha) can fully work with .wim files (extract all files, extract single file, extract group of files even update files inside .wim). I am running 7-Zip 9.30 (alpha) 64-bit version over Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. I hope it helps.

Best regards,

Aeolis

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2013, 06:49:34 AM »

JonF

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 286
Ah, thanks, 9.30 alpha does the job. And since the script already had 7Zip attached so we could be sure of the version, it's no problem to update without messing anything else up.

Next question, for anyone: how do I copy a file to the root of the boot.wim created by WinBuidler?

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #13 on: March 17, 2013, 10:33:01 AM »

JonF

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 286
Here's my redistributable DaRT 8 script. I left in the antivirus extraction from the ISO even though it isn't used, in the hope somebody may try to figure out why it won't start.

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2013, 03:28:34 PM »

ChrisR

  • Moderator, Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2898
Here's my redistributable DaRT 8 script
Great, thanks  :great:

Is there a chance to be able to use MSDaRT80.msi (x86 or x64) include in MSDOP (Microsoft Desktop Optimization Pack) for the extraction.
Without having to build Dart8.iso, maybe a good thing even without DartConfig.dat key and RecEnv, StartRep available in win8 source.

hmmm, I remove there is the List of files to copy for that.

About the warning:
DaRT Registry Editor does not work until after another registry-loading DaRT tool has been run (such as Computer Management). After DaRT Registry Editor has run, DaRT System File Scan will not run.

Maybe Blue Life HiveUnload.exe, availble in tools folder can help for that with a shortcut (HiveUnload /HKLM /Target:ALL).
I will try it tomorrow.

:cheers:

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #15 on: March 18, 2013, 06:14:38 PM »

anshad

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 323
Hi ChrisR and JFX

I didn't tried DART 8 Script yet but i use MSDART 6.5 with Win7PE. The warning about disk management and SFC is not entirely true in case of DART 6.5 and 7. Indeed it works 100% if it is launched the way it is meant to be launched- that is instead of using Truth's ERDlogon to launch individual DART components just use Microsoft's own system recovery environment launcher inside sources folder. There is no problem in using either computer management or SFC in that way. 
« Last Edit: March 18, 2013, 06:15:07 PM by anshad »

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #16 on: March 19, 2013, 05:44:24 AM »

JonF

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 286
Here's my redistributable DaRT 8 script
Great, thanks  :great:

Is there a chance to be able to use MSDaRT80.msi (x86 or x64) include in MSDOP (Microsoft Desktop Optimization Pack) for the extraction.
Without having to build Dart8.iso, maybe a good thing even without DartConfig.dat key and RecEnv, StartRep available in win8 source.

hmmm, I remove there is the List of files to copy for that.
I suppose it might be possible to extract them form the msi, but that's would be for a future upgrade.

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #17 on: March 19, 2013, 06:18:58 AM »

ChrisR

  • Moderator, Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2898
@Anshad
There is a while that I have not used disk management and SFC  :wink:
I need to refresh my memory and to retest about this warning.


@JonF
Without the debugging tools, I have a message "Failed to copy directory"

Code: [Select]
If,ExistFile,%DartSourceDir%\%copyfilesfrom%\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows (x86)\adplus.exe,Begin
  DirMake,%Target_Prog%\Debugging Tools for Windows (x86)
  DirCopy,%DartSourceDir%\%copyfilesfrom%\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows (x86)\*.*,%Target_Prog%\Debugging Tools for Windows (x86)
End
Else,If,ExistFile,%DartSourceDir%\%copyfilesfrom%\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows (x64)\adplus.exe,Begin
DirMake,%Target_Prog%\Debugging Tools for Windows (x64)
DirCopy,%DartSourceDir%\%copyfilesfrom%\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows (x64)\*.*,%Target_Prog%\Debugging Tools for Windows (x64)
End

==>
Code: [Select]
If,ExistFile,"%DartSourceDir%\%copyfilesfrom%\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows (x86)\adplus.exe",Begin
  DirMake,"%Target_Prog%\Debugging Tools for Windows (x86)"
  DirCopy",%DartSourceDir%\%copyfilesfrom%\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows (x86)\*.*","%Target_Prog%\Debugging Tools for Windows (x86)"
End
If,ExistFile,"%DartSourceDir%\%copyfilesfrom%\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows (x64)\adplus.exe",Begin
  DirMake,"%Target_Prog%\Debugging Tools for Windows (x64)"
  DirCopy,"%DartSourceDir%\%copyfilesfrom%\Program Files\Debugging Tools for Windows (x64)\*.*","%Target_Prog%\Debugging Tools for Windows (x64)"
End


Everything else works very Well :thumbup:
I have not looked for antivirus that does not start and I prefer eset, avira or others.

Just tested HiveUnload, it does not really help, permission.
about the msi extract, Up to you, provide file manually is enough for now

:cheers:

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #18 on: May 05, 2013, 09:31:11 PM »

schiffne

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: May 2013
  • Posts: 9
Can someone please send me the plugin again, as the download is no longer available.

Many thanks for your help
Marco

Re: Error with Windows Recovery
« Reply #19 on: May 06, 2013, 01:53:34 AM »

JonF

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 286
It's working now.

 

Powered by EzPortal