Topic: Adding Word 2007 to build  (Read 2701 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Adding Word 2007 to build
« on: June 19, 2013, 10:56:39 AM »

aceangler

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 1
I am an absolute newbie when it comes to this stuff, that being said, I wondered how one would go about adding word 2007 to your build. Thanks in advance. Phil :smile:

Re: Adding Word 2007 to build
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2013, 02:53:15 AM »

ChrisR

  • Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2873
Hi Phil,

Word 2007 seems to me a little heavy for a PE.
If you want a word processor, you can watch a lighter solution like AbiWord, or full-featured with Open Office, Libre Office.
You should be able to use Portable Apps easily.

Re: Adding Word 2007 to build
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2013, 04:39:18 AM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 774
...
« Last Edit: February 22, 2017, 09:42:52 AM by Atari800xl »

Re: Adding Word 2007 to build
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2015, 09:45:36 AM »

ibay770

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 7
You can get a portable version of Word 2007 from other places and include it as regular :)

Re: Adding Word 2007 to build
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2015, 09:49:23 AM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 878
Yes, portable version is the right way.

it's possible to create with Spoon or Thinapp.

Re: Adding Word 2007 to build
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2015, 09:59:37 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7186
or alternatives:

maybe getting WS Office to portable easier
http://www.kingsoftstore.com/

even ready portable alternative, Libre Office
http://portableapps.com/apps/office/libreoffice_portable


Well, knowing only posting to 2 years old topic  :smile:

:turtle:

Re: Adding Word 2007 to build
« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2015, 05:59:11 PM »

ibay770

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 7
Another possibilty: Add Word and Excel from Office '97. All you need is these files (just an example from my Dutch version):

Code: [Select]
06-10-1997 Excel.exe (5,604,624)
03-02-1997 EXCEL8.OLB (584,704)
16-06-2011 excellaunch.ahk (96)
05-06-2007 Microsoft Windows8.xlb (7,918)
11-08-1997 MSO7NLD.DLL (532,752)
11-08-1997 MSO97.DLL (3,782,416)
11-08-1997 MSOC.DLL (86,528)
11-08-1997 MSROUTE.DLL (71,168)
29-09-2012 Normal.dot (28,160)
03-02-1997 OSAINTL.DLL (6,928)
03-02-1997 SCANLOAD.DLL (12,288)
19-08-1997 WINWORD.EXE (5,324,560)
03-02-1997 WINWORD8.SRG (27,128)
29-09-2007 wordlaunch.ahk (156)
29-08-1997 WWINTL32.DLL (1,535,908)
11-08-1997 XL8409.DLL (24,064)
11-08-1997 XL8413.DLL (56,320)
03-02-1997 XLCALL32.DLL (5,120)
11-08-1997 XLINTL32.DLL (702,464)

Total: 17,5mb. The .ahk files are used for launching word.exe or excel.exe, and automatically closing the dialog box about some missing VBA dll. Maybe this is not a solution for you, but believe it or not, I work with this setup everyday, makes for a portable "Office '97 lite", never had **any** problems with it for over 10 years... (I use Excel 95% of the time). One note though: Excel needs the Office '97 SR1 update, because without it you'll encounter the "recalc bug" (recalculations take a loooong time).
Great for PE, any old PC, etc. etc. Fast, as well....

Found Word and Excel 97, just run the exe and you're set:
https://code.google.com/p/portable-office-97/downloads/list

Re: Adding Word 2007 to build
« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2015, 07:37:53 PM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 774
...
« Last Edit: February 22, 2017, 09:43:15 AM by Atari800xl »

Re: Adding Word 2007 to build
« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2015, 10:11:02 PM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 774
...
« Last Edit: February 22, 2017, 09:43:31 AM by Atari800xl »

Re: Adding Word 2007 to build
« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2015, 11:54:37 PM »

JFX

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 878
Nice find, but I can't extract these two exe files, not with 7zip (open inside) or anything.
Too bad I can't see the files inside, to check if they're safe...
It's a thinapp package, it's a bit complicated to extract it.

However, ibay770, please think about our forum rules here.

 

Powered by EzPortal