Topic: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014  (Read 68435 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #40 on: February 02, 2014, 07:40:54 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7171
and once caused by installing an older DiskDirector after the TrueImage installation.
This should work ok if you were using 2aCD's latest Acronis plugins  :wink:
 Let us know if you test such condition in future  :thumbsup:

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #41 on: February 02, 2014, 09:35:56 AM »

NFT

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 5
It was not with WinPE, but on native Run Windows, and here you have 4 Services
"Acronis Nonstop Backup Service"
"Acronis OS Selector activator"
"Acronis Scheduler2 Service"
"Acronis Sync Agent Service"

I can not remember which was not running but I was informed that image was corrupted when I tried to Mount it, I then "Restarted" all the Services and then there was no issue with the Image.

in WinPe8.1SE I currently utilise a self modified version of "Acronis TrueImage Home 2012/2013" Version 9 by 2aCD, I would have uploaded it, but 2aCD had during testing also updated.

PS. On Native Windows I run 8.1 64bit, and do not have these extra special 64bit drivers, only the 32bit and have no issues

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #42 on: February 15, 2014, 06:51:50 AM »

oliverjia

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 76
Just registered to see "thank you" to a2CD!
This script works like a charm on my Win8.1SE x64 build. This is the first time I learn to use a script to add contents to the base Win8.1SE and thanks to your script and clear instruction, I made it work!
Please keep up the good work, thanks!

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #43 on: February 15, 2014, 09:09:12 PM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 774
Acronis already solved the GPT/UEFI issue in general. Could you please refer me to the problems here people reported? were these problems related to the script or because of Acronis itself?
Well, there's these:
http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=676.msg10634#msg10634
http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/52452-Windows-8-1-Update-2014-info?p=874711&viewfull=1#post874711

So I'm looking forward to your findings (with *all* the different imager programs!)

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #44 on: February 16, 2014, 02:05:16 AM »

Mikka

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: Germany
  • Date Registered: May 2012
  • Posts: 234
Did Rock Hunter from MDL Forums really report a similar issue? Not obvious to me ...

Personally, I suspect build 6614 being sufficiently mature yet, Acronis states it's the very first build compatible with Windows 8.1, well ...

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #45 on: February 16, 2014, 02:19:43 AM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 774
I was talking in general about "Problems with Acronis on GPT", I can't even determine what these problems are specifically, but of course it's never good when an imager doesn't produce 100% reliable backups.
Hearing from my trusted collegues here at TheOven is worth much more to me.

About "first build compatible with 8.1", I was talking more about GPT in general, so that could also be 8.0 instead of 8.1. But again, problems are never good.

As luck would have it, one hour ago somebody brought over a HP Sleekbook 15 b101SD (GPT-Secureboot), so I'll have a chance to do some testing (no system restore though, don't want to take any risks). At least my W8PESE64 boots without problems!

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #46 on: February 16, 2014, 06:40:33 AM »

oliverjia

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 76
Thanks for pointing me to the problem reports of Acronis..
It appears though, that Mikka did backup and restore from within Windows, and he did not elaborate what "system corruption" he experienced? Also it appears he disabled secure boot/uef? I am not sure if these operations would affect the backup/restore process.
I tested the actual backup/restore using acronis (built from script and winbuilder) on a GPT/UEFI system with secure boot on, and it worked flawlessly. My previous experience using a dedicated acronis bootable UFD (created from within an installed Acronis program in Windows 8.1 x64) also worked on the two UEFI GPT computers I have. so it's been working for me always.


Acronis already solved the GPT/UEFI issue in general. Could you please refer me to the problems here people reported? were these problems related to the script or because of Acronis itself?
Well, there's these:
http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=676.msg10634#msg10634
http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/52452-Windows-8-1-Update-2014-info?p=874711&viewfull=1#post874711

So I'm looking forward to your findings (with *all* the different imager programs!)

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #47 on: February 16, 2014, 06:56:10 AM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 774
Thanks for reporting, my faith in Acronis has been "restored" (...) for now.

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #48 on: February 16, 2014, 08:23:55 PM »

oliverjia

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 76
I restored an image I made on Nov 2013 to the other UEFI/GPT computer using the UFD I build from Acronis 2014 script + Winbuilder and it again worked as expected. It is an SSD drive, so I checked the alignment after the restore and the alignment is good.
I guess part of the reasons why we see more reports of Acronis "problems" is because Acronis is so widely used therefore it's natural that ppl meet problems. It's a popularity thing. I believe the ratio of an Acronis user having problems should be in fact very low.

Thanks for reporting, my faith in Acronis has been "restored" (...) for now.

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #49 on: February 18, 2014, 01:40:49 PM »

oliverjia

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 76
Dear 2aCD and other script experts: would it be possible for you to consider to make a script for Terabyte Image for Windows?
It's one of my main imaging apps and it would be wonderful is I can put it in the same UFD with your acronis 2014, my other imaging app.
many thanks,
oliverjia

Edit: I've found a way to built IFW into Windows 8.1SE x64, so there is no need to write a script for it anymore. Thanks.
« Last Edit: February 19, 2014, 12:25:18 AM by oliverjia »

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #50 on: February 18, 2014, 10:13:29 PM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 774
Oliverjia, not an answer to your question, but can you tell us why you like Terabyte Image so much? Is it better (Harder, better, faster, stronger) than "our" current freeware alternatives (Macrium, Aomei)? Thanks!

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #51 on: February 19, 2014, 12:23:52 AM »

oliverjia

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 76
Dear Atari800xl,

    Yes imo Terabyte imaging products are stronger than Macrium and AOMEI and some others - it will give you very reliable backup/restore, faster speed even set at high compression, and the generated image file is generally the smallest (the other product does the same - fast imaging and small image file, is Acronis). Therefore I always image my OS partition/disk using both Image for Windows/Linux and Acronis. Macrium is also reliable, however it's a bit slower and the compression is not that good. AOMEI is on par with Macrium.

    Now I just find out Image for Windows provided a bartpe plugin generator that can help build IFW into Win8.1SE. I just did it and it works like a charm. So there is no need to write a script for it anymore.



Oliverjia, not an answer to your question, but can you tell us why you like Terabyte Image so much? Is it better (Harder, better, faster, stronger) than "our" current freeware alternatives (Macrium, Aomei)? Thanks!

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #52 on: February 19, 2014, 12:46:53 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7171
Hi oliverjia,

You can use "Plugin Creator" to create plugins for such applications that have portable nature,

\Utils\"PC Packed" plugin available  :great:

+
For "Terabyte Image for Windows"
\Utils\"PC Innounp" plugin
also works with
ifw_en_ifdgui_trial.exe
imagew.exe

+
Some other imaging softwares I like to mention:
DriveImageXML (plugin available at Gena\Apps\HD Tasks\Imaging)
DriveSnapshot (plugin available at Gena\Apps\HD Tasks\Imaging)
Odin (plugin available at Yomi\Apps\HD Tasks\Imaging)
SavePart  (plugin available at Yomi\Apps\HD Tasks\Imaging)


improvments and sharing such plugins deserves another topic  :wink:

:turtle:
« Last Edit: February 19, 2014, 12:48:31 AM by Lancelot »

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #53 on: February 19, 2014, 01:50:28 AM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 774
Thanks Lancelot, I'll try the trial version. Maybe we should create a new topic, but can you please tell me how the Trial version works in PE? It would be great if the 30 day trial counter would "disappear" when ran in PE, but it's not THAT easy, is it? (Would be great!)

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #54 on: February 19, 2014, 02:45:59 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7171
Hi Atari800xl

I just test with plugin created with \Utils\"PC Innounp"
it seems working fine (testing a quick backup)  :thumbsup:

Further requires a Terabyte user, fan  :wink:
 registration (via registry or file ..... to "disappear" ..) , x86-x64 ...... , ==> improve plugin ...
    on a new topic :great:

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #55 on: February 19, 2014, 04:48:34 AM »

Atari800xl

  • Code Baker
  • Sr. Chef
  • ****
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 774
Friends,
In a 30m break from work, I couldn't resist a quick "Terabyte Image for Windows" test. I used "innounp.exe -x ifw_en_trial.exe", then copied the folder to my W8PESE-64 USB. Booted with it, then started imagew.exe from the folder. It works!!! Nice!!! It behaves like a fully portable program... Thanks for the tip!
It doesn't support mounting the backup, does it? [EDIT: It has the nice TBIView, like the old Ghost Explorer. Hehe, I could even "install" that to my PE X:\ folder. Then in that folder is tbimount and tbimount64, so mounting *is* possible.]

[EDIT: Another quick test: copied only the 1902kb imagew.exe file to a seperate folder: Works! So it seems this 2mb exe is all you really need, quite impressive! (like good old Ghost!) - I don't even need the "mounting" functionality, the "viewer" is enough, so this one is actually completely portable and doesn't really need a PE script, just run it from anywhere...]
EDIT2: Quick speed test: Acronis: Speed=100%, size=100%
Aomei: Speed=120%, size=111%
Macrium: Speed=260% (!!), size=230% (!!)
ImageW: Speed=120%, size=101%
« Last Edit: February 19, 2014, 06:41:17 AM by Atari800xl »

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #56 on: February 19, 2014, 04:52:32 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7171
Hi Atari800xl

With respect to 2aCD Acronis plugin :cool:
    on a new topic :great:

:turtle:

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #57 on: February 19, 2014, 07:30:11 AM »

oliverjia

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 76
Dear Lancelot,

    Thanks so much for your tips regarding IFW and your recommendations to other imaging apps! I'm new to Winbuilder scripts so will be spending more time in here to learn from you veterans. This Winbiulder+Program Scripts thing is like a whole new world that I recently discovered and I am loving it so much. Thanks to you scripts experts that such a wonderful boot media can be created and used to serve all my needs in PC. Thanks again!

Best,
oliverjia


Hi oliverjia,

You can use "Plugin Creator" to create plugins for such applications that have portable nature,

\Utils\"PC Packed" plugin available  :great:

+
For "Terabyte Image for Windows"
\Utils\"PC Innounp" plugin
also works with
ifw_en_ifdgui_trial.exe
imagew.exe

+
Some other imaging softwares I like to mention:
DriveImageXML (plugin available at Gena\Apps\HD Tasks\Imaging)
DriveSnapshot (plugin available at Gena\Apps\HD Tasks\Imaging)
Odin (plugin available at Yomi\Apps\HD Tasks\Imaging)
SavePart  (plugin available at Yomi\Apps\HD Tasks\Imaging)


improvments and sharing such plugins deserves another topic  :wink:

:turtle:

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #58 on: April 02, 2014, 09:23:46 AM »

kingvi

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Date Registered: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 1
Hello guys,
I have a problem with the script, the program, or the procedure I'm doing. I don't know. This is why I'm writing.  :smile:
The program starts correctly and let me choose what to do but I'm not able to use it because it continues to tell me the ATI 2014 is not registered.. that I'm using the trial version. Obviously that is not true!

In the script window I copied the Premium code, I bought, in the first field (the one called "Serial no. Acronis TrueImage") and the other one I always left blank.

Where I'm not doing it correctly?

Thanks

Re: Acronis True Image Home 2012...2014
« Reply #59 on: April 02, 2014, 12:34:38 PM »

oliverjia

  • Jr. Chef
  • **
  • Date Registered: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 76
The serial number in the Winbuilder box is not refering to the actual key of your ATI 2014. You have to install ATI2014 on your build computer, then activate it, then in Winbuilder click "import key". You'll find the serial number is actually a long list of grouped numbers. You can copy these numbers and use them later.


 

Powered by EzPortal