Topic: Quick Launch + StartIs Back and default pins  (Read 2998 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Quick Launch + StartIs Back and default pins
« on: March 18, 2014, 11:23:50 PM »

gbrao

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 195
Is it possible to enable QL when using StartIsBack ? Did not work for me.

IE is pinned to the taskbar by default. Possible to avoid that ?

Explorer shortcut is present by default in QL.  Possible to avoid that ?

Thanks for 8.1 SE.

Wish I could restart/shutdown by right clicking the default start button ( as in Win 8.1 ).
« Last Edit: March 19, 2014, 12:21:22 AM by gbrao »

Re: Quick Launch + StartIs Back and default pins
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2014, 01:18:48 AM »

gbrao

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 195
Wish I could restart/shutdown by right clicking the default start button ( as in Win 8.1 ).

I found a solution - one that I like. From :
http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/windows-and-office/integrate-a-custom-shutdown-menu-into-the-windows-8-desktop-context-menu/7506/

Code: [Select]
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Shut Down]
"MUIVerb"="Shut Down"
"SubCommands"="restart;|;shutdown"
"Icon"="shell32.dll,215"
"Position"="bottom"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\CommandStore\shell\restart]
@="Restart"
"Icon"="shell32.dll,215"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\CommandStore\shell\restart\command]
@="Shutdown -r -f -t 00"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\CommandStore\shell\shutdown]
@="Shut Down"
"Icon"="shell32.dll,215"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\CommandStore\shell\shutdown\command]
@="Shutdown -s -f -t 00"


I prefer restart/shutdown to be done in 2 steps/clicks - the shortcut to shutdown.exe method is 1 step.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2014, 01:21:15 AM by gbrao »

Re: Quick Launch + StartIs Back and default pins
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2014, 03:41:33 AM »

ChrisR

  • Moderator, Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2911
Is it possible to enable QL when using StartIsBack ? Did not work for me.
It is fixed now, StartIsBack plugin reset the registry value written previously in Explorer
StartIsBack v4 is on server.

IE is pinned to the taskbar by default. Possible to avoid that ?
Look at 1-Pins in Finals folder to disable the IE line.

Explorer shortcut is present by default in QL.  Possible to avoid that ?
Yes but I do not know how to avoid it, it is actually the User Pinned folder.

Thanks for the shutdown trick  :thumbsup:

Re: Quick Launch + StartIs Back and default pins
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2014, 05:55:15 AM »

gbrao

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 195
Yes but I do not know how to avoid it, it is actually the User Pinned folder.

I think the folder should have a hidden attribute. (?)

Re: Quick Launch + StartIs Back and default pins
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2014, 07:57:22 AM »

Aeolis

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Date Registered: Oct 2012
  • Posts: 134
Hello folks,

Dear ChrisR, I would like to report that when using StartIsBackPlus script version 3 I had this task bar:

ila_rendered

Log: * log_20140319_144300_Win8.1SE_Support.7z (278.7 kB - downloaded 101 times.)

Now, after updating StartIsBackPlus script to version 4, I have this task bar:

ila_rendered

Log: * log_20140319_141700_Win8.1SE_Support.7z (278.23 kB - downloaded 106 times.)

Could you, please, check this issue? If you need any additional information just let me know.

Best regards,

Aeolis
« Last Edit: March 19, 2014, 08:03:27 AM by Aeolis »

Re: Quick Launch + StartIs Back and default pins
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2014, 09:37:34 AM »

ChrisR

  • Moderator, Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2911
Hi Aeolis,

You should have the "Show QuickLaunch" enabled on explorer plugin, it is disable by default normally.
It should do the trick. For the story, the TaskbarWinXP key is only managed in Explorer, now  :thumbsup:

Re: Quick Launch + StartIs Back and default pins
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2014, 10:37:41 AM »

ChrisR

  • Moderator, Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2911
I think the folder should have a hidden attribute. (?)
Yep, I added Attrib +A +H +S +R  "...\Quick Launch\User Pinned" folder, in "1 - Copy Files", That's OK now  :thumbsup:

Re: Quick Launch + StartIs Back and default pins
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2014, 06:45:01 PM »

gbrao

  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 195
Thanks. The IE pin still happens - I'm not using 1-Pins in Finals. Minor annoyance.

Re: Quick Launch + StartIs Back and default pins
« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2014, 12:35:31 AM »

ChrisR

  • Moderator, Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2911
I always use Pin in my buildings, I just saw it  :wink:

At build time, there is no shortcuts created in:
X:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\User Pinned\TaskBar
And  HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Taskband does not exist.
Also, there is no entry in Win8.1SE.cfg and no PINT in Pecmd.ini

There must be a Windows process that creates it, at administrator logon! Let me know if you find something.
Also, does anyone knows a trick to AutoSize the Quick Launch toolbar ? a little wide for my taste.
 :smile:

Re: Quick Launch + StartIs Back and default pins
« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2014, 06:52:13 AM »

Lancelot

  • Gena Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 7374
Also, does anyone knows a trick to AutoSize the Quick Launch toolbar ? a little wide for my taste.
 :smile:

I don't  :tongue:,
Instead I prefered providing 3 custom made options with radiobuttons ,
+
a workaround developed by Galapo  :wink:

Check
Gena\Components\Tweaks Explorer\"QuickLaunch" plugin,
ps: I prefer using '2 Flloor' on my builds  :lol: , 5 Space as default

Galapo's trick is counting quicklaunch shortcuts, [process-quicklaunch] and using 8 (10-3+1) self made registry settings,
 not perfect but does the trick  :cool:
  ps: once a user asked why his/her plugin with custom quicklaunch design not working, I replied him to uncheck this option since it was overwriting at build end and uncheck from default Gena build ....

See You
:turtle:

 

Powered by EzPortal