Topic: Easy DISM  (Read 31242 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Easy DISM
« on: March 23, 2014, 05:32:56 AM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
Easy_Dism

Striving to be the Best and Easiest to use DISM GUI available!
Installer created with InnoSetup
If DISM 10 files are needed you will be prompted to Download
( automated download and install of DISM files )

* Features.txt (1.53 kB - downloaded 48 times.)
ila_rendered

If running from PE just use the plugin and everything will be done automatically.
http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=955.msg11799#msg11799

Easy_DISM v2.5.6
* Easy_DISM v2.5.6.exe.7z (3104.38 kB - downloaded 257 times.)
Added lots of Tool Tips and better instructions
About half way finished, got to Driver Export\Import Tab
Added a new Driver install Process that's is just awesome
See more here http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=933.msg23060#msg23060

Easy_DISM v2.5.5
New Installer with uninstall created with InnoSetup
Fixed a bug with 64bit DISM download fail to copy DISM files
Included a tool to remove Easy_DISM v2.5.4

Easy_DISM v2.5.4
Thanks to JFX and GetWaikTools
Fully automated download and install of DISM 10

Easy_DISM v2.5.3
Fixed bugs with Export ESD to WIM only available with DISM 10
Added Muti Image Export option ( export all )
Created a basic installer and a process to simplify the install of DISM 10
This will need testing see more here http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=933.msg22936#msg22936

Easy_DISM v2.5.2
Added AppAssociation Tab Export Import .xml
Adding Cofig Settings to last Tab and using EZ_config.ini
Now you can set  your Home Tab or manually set DISM path

Easy_DISM v2.5
Added AppPkg Tab Special for Subz @Autoit
His routine for removing Apps makes it really simple
Program Update In Windows 8.1 and 10 Easy_DISM run from anywhere (uses DISM @SystemDir)
Windows 7 still have to pack Easy_DISM to same folder as DISM

 Easy_DISM v2.4.1
Thanks to Subz new process sorting exported drivers
New folder structure will be SaveFolder\ClassName\ProviderName\blahblahblah\driverfiles

Easy_DISM v2.4
New Progress Bar!
Driver Export\Import Now uses PnPutil as default installer available in all Windows and PE projects
DPinst option still available

More Version Info
http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=933.msg22222#msg22222

Easy_DISM v2.3
Added a Progress Bar and eliminated Cmd Window all tabs except pkgs and features.
As  I added Progress Bar and testing fixed a few bugs already present
and fixed any new bugs caused by the new addition (I Hope).
Biggest source of problems has always been spaces in file path so if you find any let me know.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2017, 07:20:18 PM by trashy »

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2014, 07:42:02 AM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
Why the new name?
Cause it is the best and the easiest! (pat myself on the back)                         
There are a couple DISM GUI around and I wanted to be different.

Recommend Dism 10 (Windows 10)
Also compatible with DISM for Windows 8 and 8.1
Compatible with all versions Windows and PE
Use Get WAIK Tools "thanks to JFX" download both ADK and WAIK
Place Easy_DISM in same folder, no spaces in file path (The last blank space problem still to fix)

Easy_DISM_v2.2.1
* Easy_DISM_v2.2.1.7z (843.55 kB - downloaded 81 times.)
Fixed a couple bugs with spaces in file path on new Tab
Couple tweaks to program to make it compatible with PE plugin
It will search for DPinst in Easy_DISM folder then in system dir
If you want to use this feature outside the PE you have to copy DPinst to Easy_DISM folder.

Easy_DISM_v2.2
New Tab Driver Export\Import
Export drivers from Online OS, Attached Hard Drive, or Mounted Image.
Could not get the Export Driver function to work on a Windows 7 Image
untill I tried DISM 10.
Install (Import) to online PE or OS with DPinst.
DPinst must be added to Easy_DISM folder for this function.
Made a few tweaks to Capture|Append Tab and others.

Easy DISM v2.1
Hope I worked out all the bugs.
Driver Tab: Added ForceUnsigned to single driver
DiskMgt Tab: You can now browse for DiskPart text
Added 2 new Tabs
Split Tab: Split WIM files and Merge SWM files
Merge uses the export function of DISM, You Must Export (Merge) Each Index 1 At A Time
Driver Import Tab: WIP  Wanted to Use the driver export function of DISM to Import to an
online PE but apparently it doesn't work with Windows 7. Will have to load 8 on something to test.

Easy_DISM v2.0
Tested with dism 6.2 and 6.3 (Win 8 and 8.1)
should be compatible with 10 also.
Added 3 more functions
Export: Can also be used to convert .esd to .wim when exporting as new file.
Delete: does just what it says.
Edit: Change volume index name and description. (uses imagex)

Plugin Updated to version 2.2.1
http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=955.0


OBSOLETE

GUI for Dism 6.2 (Win8)

July-2015
Extremely dense cataracts had left me nearly blind. Last eye surgery was March and I hope to resume this project.

I have tried to create an easy to use gui for DISM simple enough for any dummy (like me) to use.
Seriously how can anyone remember all those commands. More powerful and many more options than imagex.
Add the 32 or 64 bit GUI to the same folder as DISM 6.2.9200 and it can run on any version of windows or PE.

There can be NO SPACES in program dir path best location is root of drive. This applies to all versions of Dism_Gui.

PE Plugin can be found here http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=955.0
Download for 32 and 64 bit Gui can be found at the end of this post.

Download Dism for Windows 8 using getwaiktools found in PE Builder utilities.
Place Dism GUI in same folder as dism.exe
Or if you're running Windows 8 you can just put the GUI in system32 directory and create a desktop shortcut.

Mount UnMount, add and remove drivers and packages.
Should work on Windows 7 or 8 and PE.
Possibly XP and Gena, needs testing.
Only restriction, mount folder CAN NOT contain spaces in folder name and should reside in root of any Drive.
EDIT: Bug in add driver folder, will not accept spaces in folder name.

Plan is to add capture and apply but needs extensive testing first.
I'd like to work the bugs out of what I've done so far before I continue.

New to version 1.1
FIXED: Bug in add driver folder, will now accept spaces in folder name
and a few other small tweaks.

New to version 1.2
Added CheckIntegrity to Mount and UnMount
Added new Tab Apply, (I think capture function may be a little tougher).

New to version 1.3
Added 2 new tabs Features and Capture/Append
These will need some testing, will post plugin shortly.
Capture/Append was a pain in the ass overcoming spaces in file and folder names.
Command lines contain as many as 5 variables.

Version 1.4
Added select scratchdir to Capture/Append, addresses a problem in PE default directory is
located in ram drive and too small for temp working directory.
Thanks to wingers for bringing this to my attention and help with testing new version.

EDIT: SIW2 gave me this one. Added .esd file extension to Apply.

Version 1.5
Added a new tab Diskmngmt
Wingers suggested adding disk format

@ homey added support for basic winpe built from WAIK (FileSelectFolder dialog)

Edit: Added option for diskpart

Version 1.6
* Dism_Gui v1.6.7z (731.92 kB - downloaded 87 times.)
Fixed a few minor script errors and
Added warning message to Mount tab
   UnMount warns if Commit or Discard Changes
Added warning message to Capture tab
   Capture and Append warns if name and description fields are blank
Added warning message to Apply tab
   Apply gives image and index info
« Last Edit: January 08, 2017, 10:06:35 AM by trashy »

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2014, 06:55:56 PM »

SIW2

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 168
Good idea.

I have done a couple , just simple gui which I use in pe.

Dism7 is for 7 upwards, and dism 9 is for 8x

ila_rendered

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2014, 07:41:33 PM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
@SIW2
Your Pic's too small can't tell what you've done, what features have you employed.
Have you shared the program anywhere?
I found very little on internet for dism gui.

I'm a total amateur at AutoIt and know very little about dism as well.
This has been a challenge as well as a good learning experience.
Don't have Win8 available to test on, all I have is XP and Win7.

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2014, 04:57:58 AM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
What I've discovered about dism win7 and win8 versions are completely different.
They use different command line options and it appears win8 version has many more features.
Apply and capture not available in win7 version.
I may be done with this version for now, could add package manipulation.
I need to get a hold of a copy of Win8. Dism for Win8 has many more features.

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2014, 06:02:53 AM »

SIW2

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 168
Rt click the pic and open in new  tab to see it full size. i have added it again at the bottom here

Dism 8x will accept the commands from my Dism7 gui.

There are some new ones as well, that is what Dism9 GUI is for.


Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2014, 06:43:23 AM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
Dism 8x will accept the commands from my Dism7 gui.
That's good to know.
You've crammed a lot into 1 gui but it looks like you covered everything.
Hopefully what I've done makes it easier for amateurs like me to understand,
like I said I tried to make it fool proof.

I still have a lot to learn about dism and autoit, need to give it a break for a while
and let some of the info I've absorbed sink in. Think I'll share what I've done so far
in a plugin and let em test in a PE environment.
Thanks for the info
« Last Edit: March 25, 2014, 06:53:17 AM by trashy »

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2014, 07:18:47 AM »

SIW2

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 168
I think yours could be better than mine, you can get several tabs going. I can only do one page.  :thumbsup:
« Last Edit: March 25, 2014, 07:19:03 AM by SIW2 »

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2014, 07:30:52 AM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
Just ran my first test from win7PE mount completed but I got an access denied error wtf.
I had big problem with tabs at first too.

Edit: Dism Error 5 access denied, online search says Anti Virus or Admin privilege.
Im running Avira and SpyBot on my PE build.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2014, 03:04:53 PM by trashy »

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2014, 06:43:14 PM »

SIW2

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Date Registered: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 168
Are you sure winpeshl.exe completed?

Which pe build are you using?

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2014, 07:28:15 PM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
Win7PE_SE
Had Avira set to run on startup. New build without Avira and it Works flawlessly!
I use Microsoft Security Essentials in Windows and never had that problem.

You seem to know a lot more about dism than I do. I may want to pick your brain,
what features I should and some command line examples.

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #11 on: March 26, 2014, 01:15:58 AM »

ChrisR

  • Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2809
It is a good idea  :thumbsup:

I found 2 other tools on which you can perhaps inspire you
DISM GUI 3.5 http://mikecel79.wordpress.com/  It required DotNet
GDism ELDI v6.2 http://www.datafilehost.com/d/0fb6904b The interface is nice with many options available but it is written in Java.

Good dev  :smile:
« Last Edit: March 26, 2014, 02:24:34 AM by ChrisR »

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #12 on: March 26, 2014, 05:02:36 AM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
Thanks ChrisR
1st one I seen already 2nd one I'll have to take a look at. Should help give me some more ideas.

What I really needed was a complete list of dism Command-Line Options.
Searches kept taking me to Win8 page, finally found Win7 page, should give me what I need.
Command-Line examples are always nice, that's what I was asking SIW2 for, examples.

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2014, 09:00:35 AM »

ChrisR

  • Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2809
Deployment Image Servicing and Management (DISM) Command-Line Options (Standard 8) http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/jj980032(v=winembedded.81).aspx

For the organization GDISM ELDI seems not bad with many options, it may lack tabs for Apply or Capture.
Continue step by step or Tab by tab (Mount, Info , Features, Packages, Drivers, Capture, Apply, ...)
 

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #14 on: March 27, 2014, 01:36:24 AM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
DismGUI_ELDI.jar
I know absolutely nothing about java, can't get it to start.
I want to do my own for win8 version of dism in autoit.
I don't have a copy of Win8, I guess the only way to get dism for 8 is download WAIK.

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #15 on: March 27, 2014, 01:54:04 PM »

ChrisR

  • Win7PE SE Baker
  • Grand Chef
  • *****
  • Date Registered: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2809
DismGUI_ELDI.jar
I know absolutely nothing about java, can't get it to start.
You need the java runtime environment installed to launch the .jar file

I want to do my own for win8 version of dism in autoit.
:thumbsup: without the need of Java or DotNet  :thumbsup:

I don't have a copy of Win8, I guess the only way to get dism for 8 is download WAIK.
Look at the great GetWAIKTools  :thumbsup:
http://theoven.org/index.php?topic=287.0 or http://www.msfn.org/board/topic/156869-get-waik-tools-wo-downloading-the-huge-isos/

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #16 on: March 28, 2014, 05:27:01 AM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
Yes, no dependencies.

Just tried GetWaikTool, that's what I needed, now to start testing.
Thanks ChrisR

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #17 on: April 02, 2014, 11:17:09 AM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
Working on dism for win 8. Of course I'm running Win 7.
I thought I could just place my autoit script in the same folder as dism but nooo.
Had to use @ScriptDir and the only way to make that work was to remove all the double quotes from variables in cmd line.
Which means no spaces in folder names. Also using @ScriptDir will cause problems if using under Win8.
Any one got any ideas? Can't delete, overwrite or rename dism from system32, windows protected file.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2014, 11:24:12 AM by trashy »

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #18 on: April 02, 2014, 04:30:21 PM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
OK, I'm on the right track. It's all about the placement of quotes.
As far as running in Win 8, should be able to place gui in system32 dir and create shortcuts.
Should have something ready for testing soon.

Re: Dism GUI (WIP)
« Reply #19 on: April 03, 2014, 08:49:09 AM »

trashy

  • Code Baker
  • Chef
  • ***
  • Location: US
  • Date Registered: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 158
@ScriptDir causing too many conflicts, I'm stumped.
May throw out everything and start over fresh.

 

Powered by EzPortal